Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for All that glows
Format:
Title:
All that glows
ISBN:
9780062187413

9781480644809
Publication:
New York, NY : HarperTeen, an Imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
463 pages ; 21 cm
Number in series:
1.
Summary:
"As Emrys, one of the faery bodyguards of the British monarcy, is trying not to fall in love with her latest charge, the rowdy bad boy Prince Richard, and ancient darkness starts preying on the rest of the monarchy"-- Provided by publisher.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Graudin
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Lesley Livingston comes a clever twist on the mortal/immortal love story by hot debut author Ryan Graudin. Intense and electric, this is the ultimate tale of forbidden love.

Emrys, a spirited and charismatic Faery Guard of the British monarchy, is sent to London to guard Richard, the bad-boy prince of England, from assassins and paparazzi. Despite her status as a guard of the royals, Emrys struggles with her feelings as she tries to not fall in love with the charming prince. But when an ancient Fae murders the king, Richard's father, and starts attacking the other royals, Emrys must risk everything to hunt through London's magical dark side in order to protect her charge--and the boy she loves.


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Emrys of the Fae has been given a new assignment: Guard the life of England's Prince Richard. The young royal has frustrated all the previous guards with his wild ways, but Emrys sees beyond his bad boy act and forms an instant connection with him. She allows Richard to see her, something the Fae are not supposed to do, and the attraction between the two is ignited. Meanwhile, dark forces are gathering to destroy the mortal world, and the British monarchy is the focus of their efforts. Once the royals are eliminated, all protection for other mortals will be gone, clearing the way for evil underworld forces to claim the world as theirs alone. When Richard becomes king after the assassination of his father, Emrys readies herself for attacks on Richard's life, but it soon becomes clear that the battle is bigger than she imagined and there are very few she can trust. Her love for Richard leaves her with a choice-a mortal life with him or life as a Fae apart from Richard forever. Filled with action, humor, and romance, All that Glows is an engaging debut.-Kathy Kirchoefer, Henderson County Public Library, NC (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

A paranormal romance that's notable for its Fae protagonist's honest examination of what loving a mortal will cost her. When Emrys Loflic is sent to London to guard the partying British prince Richard, she considers her reassignment to be a punishment from Queen Mab. What she doesn't expect--though readers may--is her swift fall for the attractive, good-hearted Richard. Graudin sidesteps complete predictability with Emrys' inner thoughts, which reveal her gradual acknowledgement of her true feelings for Richard and, later, her growing understanding of what a commitment to him will mean: the loss of her immortality and magic. Meanwhile, an ancient power threatens the safety of the entire royal family, desirous of the powerful blood magic they unwittingly possess. Emrys' metaphor-heavy first-person narration chronicles the agony she endures in both deciding her own fate and attempting to protect Richard and his family from a veiled but powerful threat. While much of the story is run-of-the-mill, the intense emotional upheaval Emrys experiences as she chooses between the life she has known and the man she loves will feel achingly real to empathetic readers. Paranormal romance fans will come away with a heroine they can both root and care for. (Paranormal romance. 14-18)]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Beautiful Emrys is a member of the Faery Guard and old by human standards (she remembers Camelot), but she is still a relative youngling among her people. She is therefore considered the ideal candidate to provide invisible protection for the teenage heir to the British throne, the fun-loving and very Prince Harry-like Prince Richard. Sparks fly, however, when she meets the prince, and she cannot resist abandoning her invisibility and revealing herself to him, beginning a whirlwind romance. But when Richard's father is assassinated by a rogue Faery power, they must fight for their lives as well as their love. Blending otherworldly glamour with contemporary glitz and suspense with passion, this book offers a lot to fantasy fans. Emrys' adventure takes her from the shores of tar-dark lochs to the flourishing, gold-leafed ceilings of Windsor Castle. Though the writing occasionally suffers from awkward missteps, Emrys' tale of romance and intrigue should appeal to fans of Holly Black's Tithe (2002), Valiant (2005), and Ironside (2007) and Maggie Stiefvater's Lament (2008) and Ballad (2009).--Willey, Paula Copyright 2014 Booklist