Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for The ruins of Gorlan
Format:
Title:
The ruins of Gorlan
ISBN:
9780399244544

9780142406632

9781415609194

9780756968984

9781435233133
Edition:
First American edition.
Publication:
New York : Philomel Books, 2005.
Physical Description:
249 pages ; 24 cm
Series title(s):
Number in series:
bk. 1.
General Note:
"Published in Australia by Random House Australia Children's Books"--Title page verso.
Summary:
When fifteen-year-old Will is rejected by battleschool, he becomes the reluctant apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, and winds up protecting the kingdom from danger.
Reading Level:
Reading level: age 9-15.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader/Renaissance Learning MG 7.0 12.

Accelerated Reader AR MG 7.0 12.0 89662.

16.0 Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.6 38610.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
FLANAGAN
Searching...
Searching...
TEEN FIC FLANAGAN Ranger's Apprentice #1
Searching...
Searching...
YA FICTION - FLANAGAN (OBOB)
Searching...
Searching...
YA FLANAGAN
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION - FLANAGAN
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION - FLANAGAN
Searching...
Searching...
T FLANAGAN, J. RANGER'S APPRENTICE BOOK
Searching...
Searching...
Flanagan
Searching...
Searching...
YA FIC FLANAGAN 2005
Searching...
Searching...
YA FLANAGAN
Searching...
Searching...
TEEN Flanagan, J.
Searching...
Searching...
TEEN Flanagan, J.
Searching...
Searching...
TEEN Flanagan, J.
Searching...
Searching...
YA FLANAGAN v.1
Searching...
Searching...
T FLANAGAN
Searching...
Searching...
T FLANAGAN
Searching...
Searching...
TEEN Flanagan, J.
Searching...
Searching...
YA FLANAGAN
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The fantasy adventure that launched the international bestselling series, with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone !

They have always scared him in the past--the Rangers, with their dark cloaks and shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger's apprentice. What he doesn't yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Here is the fantasy adventure that launched the Ranger's Apprentice series, an epic story of heroes and villains that has become an international phenomenon. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.


Author Notes

John Flanagan was born on May 22, 1944. Before becoming a novelist, he was an advertising and television writer. He also co-created the television series Hey Dad! with Gary Reilly. He writes the Ranger's Apprentice series, which were originally written to encourage his son to read, the Jesse Parker Mystery series, Brotherband Chronicles, and the Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger series. He won the Australian Publishers Association's Book of the Year for Older Children and the International Success Award for Erak's Ransom in 2008. His title's: Hunters, The Royal Rangers and Scorpion Mountain made The New York Times Best Seller List. He made the finalist list for the Aurealis Awards for his title Slaves of Socorro: Brotherband Book 4.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-8-Right from the start, listeners will become engrossed in the first book (Philomel, 2005) of John Flanagan's projected series (Philomel Books, 2005), which is reminiscent of Tolkien minus the allegory. On Choosing Day, when wards of the castle become apprentices, 15-year-old Will doesn't get his first choice of attending Battle School, where knights are trained. Instead, he is apprenticed to Halt, the mysterious Ranger, whose lessons on stealth and intelligence gathering lead Will to a new understanding of honor and valor. As the evil Morgarath is planning a war and killing off the kingdom's leaders, Will's courage and determination are tested. Filled with rich detail and plenty of edge-of-your-seat thrills, Flanagan's word choice and writing style lend themselves to the quasi-historical time period and setting. The characters are developed believably, only veering slightly into stereotypes with the bullies at the Battle School. John Keating's erudite and compelling voices make this well-paced story come alive. Listeners will eagerly await the next installment in the series. A fine choice for middle schools and public libraries.-Charli Osborne, Oxford Public Library, Oxford, MI (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Bestial villains, noble knights and deposed despots prepare their forces for impending battle in the first book in the Ranger?s Apprentice series by Australian author Flanagan. Fifteen-year-old Will, orphaned as a child, and his close friends anxiously await Choosing Day, when each will be chosen?or not?for apprenticeship in one of several schools. Those not chosen wind up as farm labor to help feed the castledwellers. ?It was a fate [Will] feared more than anything.? He entertains notions of entering Battleschool like his classmate?and sometime adversary?Horace. But because of Will?s diminutive stature, and a knack for climbing, hiding and all things clandestine, he is instead chosen to be a Ranger, under the tutelage of Halt, who years earlier exiled the evil Morgarath to the land of the Mountains of Rain and Night. As Will learns archery and stealth techniques, he makes peace with Horace (who is being tormented by older classmates at Battleschool), and the two must then travel with a contingent of Rangers and warriors to fight invading, ?almost invincible? Kalkara?bearlike assassins sent by Morgarath to kill Halt. On the whole, the story owes much to the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Flanagan?s Rangers more than recall Tolkien?s, and the deposed Morgarath and his inhuman Wargals parallel Saruman and the Orcs a bit too closely. Still, for the uninitiated, this is an exciting tale of battle and honor. Ages 10-up. (June) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.


Horn Book Review

(Intermediate, Middle School) Small in stature and of unknown parentage, Will nevertheless dreams of becoming a knight. Chosen instead to become an apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, he transforms disappointment into determination and enters a discipline that far exceeds his expectations. This is perfect audio fodder: lots of action, bold-spirited characters, castles, battles, true friendships, and bitter enmities. Keating's voice rings with heroic valor, drops to a whisper, and then charges full-steam into battle. This well-paced, exciting adventure will leave listeners eager for the next installment. (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.


Kirkus Review

Sturdily competent fantasy from a veteran Australian screenwriter, this quartet opener introduces five teenaged orphans raised together in the medieval-like kingdom of Araluen, focusing on the apprenticeship of wiry, clever Will to a mysterious scout/spy, and on Will's changing relations with oversized, rival-later-friend Horace. Though Will's slight physique keeps him out of Battleschool, his first choice, it turns out to be just the ticket for Ranger work, which combines survival skills and keen powers of observation with the ability to move about unseen. As Will is learning these arts, Horace is finding Battleschool almost more than he can handle, thanks to a trio of particularly brutal bullies--and further afield, evil Lord Morgarath, being bent on conquest, has sent two kalkera, brutish bear/apes, out to assassinate Araluen's most prominent war leaders. Flanagan does nothing to boost his typecast characters, familiar themes or conventional, video-game plot above the general run, but readers with a taste for quickly paced adventure with tidy, predictable resolutions (kalkera and bullies vanquished, Will and Horace heroes and buddies) won't be disappointed. (Fantasy. 11-13) Copyright ©Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Gr. 5-8. Like the other 15-year-old wards of Castle Redmont, Will is nervous about Choosing Day, when each of them will be assigned to a different master for training. Though his dearest wish is to enter the Battleschool, his small stature prevents it. Instead, Will is apprenticed to the grim-faced, mysterious Ranger. Soon Will learns that becoming a ranger is more difficult, dangerous, and worthwhile than he had imagined. He earns the respect of his elders and the friendship of a former foe, but all this is prelude to the great adventure that follows, when his skills wielding a knife and keeping a heightened awareness of his surroundings become vital to the survival of his mentor and the safety of the kingdom. The last few years have seen the publication of many fantasies, but few have the appeal of this original story. Rather than creating a host of strange creatures and magical powers, Flanagan concentrates on character, offering readers a young protagonist they will care about and relationships that develop believably over time. Will's world is a colorful place, threatened by an evil warlord and his fierce minions, but it's the details of everyday living and the true-to-life emotions of the people that are memorable. Children will definitely look forward to the next adventure in the Ruins of Gorlan series. --Carolyn Phelan Copyright 2005 Booklist