Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for The forbidden stone
Format:
Title:
The forbidden stone
ISBN:
9780062194473

9780062328113

9780062194442
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
423 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm.
Series title(s):
Number in series:
bk. 1.
Summary:
"Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world"-- Provided by publisher.
Reading Level:
Ages 8-12.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
JF ABBOTT v.01
Searching...
Searching...
+ FICTION - ABBOTT VOL. 1
Searching...
Searching...
J FIC ABBOTT 2014
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION ABBOTT
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION ABBOTT
Searching...
Searching...
JF ABBOTT
Searching...
Searching...
J Abbott, T.
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's epic new middle grade series, the Copernicus Legacy, begins with The Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action. Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past--before it's too late.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

Supports the Common Core State Standards


Author Notes

Tony Abbott was born in Cleveland, Ohio on January 7, 1952. He attended the University of Connecticut, majoring first in music, then psychology, and finally English. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in English literature. After that, he traveled to Europe before returning home and finding work in a variety of bookstores, a library and at an Internet book and magazine publisher.

His first published book, Danger Guys, was written while taking a writing class with children's author, Patricia Reilly Giff. Since then, he's written over 75 books for children ages 6 to 12, including The Secrets of Droon series, The Haunting of Derek Stone series, and The Time Surfers series. Firegirl won the Golden Kite Award for Fiction in 2007 and The Postcard won the Edgar Award for the Best Juvenile Mystery novel in 2009.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-7-Wade Kaplan receives a coded message from his Uncle Henry, who dies suddenly soon after sending it. Wade, his dad, and three friends attend Uncle Henry's funeral in Germany and find more mysterious clues left by him. The kids and their dad are launched on an overseas adventure with mysteries and danger at every turn. It turns out that the clues are keys to finding seven relics; once they are all found, they will reveal the secret Copernicus Legacy. Unfortunately, members of an ancient and sinister society are after the seven relics as well, and Wade and his group soon find themselves in a race for their lives. -MacLeod Andrews's narration captures the thrill of the adventure, creating unique voices for each character. Many of the places and names are in German and Italian. Andrews's European accents are wonderful, but young listeners unused to listening to them may find it difficult at times to keep up with the fast-paced story. This is the first in a series that is bound to please fans of the "39 Clues" series and the "Century Quartet."-Terri Norstrom, Cook Memorial Public Library District, Libertyville, IL (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

In this strong, ambitious start to the Copernicus Legacy series, Abbott (the Secrets of Droon) sends four protagonists on a globe-spanning adventure as they attempt to reclaim lost artifacts before a secret organization realizes its evil agenda. Working through a series of centuries-old puzzles and clues, stepbrothers Wade and Darrell Kaplan and their friends Lily and Becca, accompanied by Wade's astrophysicist father, attempt to unravel the mystery of a device built by the astronomer Copernicus. As their search takes them from Germany to Italy and Guam, they unravel ciphers, translate lost diaries, and both outwit and outrun the fiendish, murderous Teutonic Order. With 12 artifacts to be found over 12 planned installments, a mix of novels and novellas, there's no denying the epic scope of this storyline. Fast-paced and clever, the novel reads like a mashup of the National Treasure films and The Da Vinci Code; it's a thriller that engages the intellect even as it rummages through history for inspiration and journeys to far-flung locales. Ages 8-12. Agent: George Nicholson, Sterling Lord Literistic. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

Middle schoolers Wade, Darrell, Lily, and Becca are embroiled in a mystery after deciphering a coded email. As the Da Vinci Codelite story unfolds, the kids zip around Europe, hunting for clues about a time machine built by Copernicus with bad guys in hot pursuit. Most readers won't mind the credibility-straining escape sequences. Instead, they'll be eagerly awaiting the sequels. (c) Copyright 2014. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

Four precocious preteens and a distracted astrophysicist travel to Europe to unravel a mystery that has already claimed several lives. The arrival of a coded email reveals that 12-year-old Wade Kaplan's antique star map is not just a beautiful artifact, but a key. Unfortunately, as Wade, his astrophysicist father and his stepbrother, Darrell, discover, the map is only the first of many clues. The three would-be adventurers are joined by Wade's technophile cousin, Lily, and her bookish friend, Becca. The five follow the clues to Berlin, where Dr. Kaplan discovers that he is the only remaining member of the Asterias, a group run by his murdered mentor. The academic quest quickly becomes deadly as a ruthless group competes for the 12 hidden relics that can save the world and unlock the Copernicus Legacy. Filled with riddles and ciphers, this first of 12 installments will keep readers intellectually stimulated as well as entertained. The stepbrothers' bond, a budding crush and a mystery that plays off of real historical figures and facts make this more than a pedestrian whodunit. With engaging characters, a globe-trotting plot and dangerous villains, it is hard to find something not to like. Equal parts edge-of-your-seat suspense and heartfelt coming-of-age. (Mystery. 8-12)]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Right before Wade's uncle Henry, an astronomy professor in Berlin, meets a suspicious and untimely demise, he sends Wade's dad a coded e-mail. Using an antique star map Uncle Henry gave Wade for his birthday years earlier, Wade and his dad, along with Darrel, Lily, and Becca, unlock the first in long sequence of puzzles, leading them to Berlin, Bologna, Rome, and all around the world. As they dig deeper into the clues, they discover a hidden history of Nicolaus Copernicus, including 12 relics that are protected by guardians who make sure they stay out of the wrong hands. Unfortunately for Wade and his friends, those wrong hands are hot on their tail. Wade and his friends have to use all their smarts to solve the clues in this high-stakes adventure and beat their powerful pursuers to each magical relic. With word games and rebus puzzles to spare, this whirling first entry in a projected six-part series from Abbott (City of the Dead, 2011) has international intrigue, fast-paced action, entertaining characters, and a healthy helping of science history. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Best-selling Abbott is getting the usual signings, tours, website tie-ins but the kicker is a sweepstakes for a trip to New York City for a real-life scavenger hunt led by the author.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2010 Booklist