Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Face of betrayal
Format:
Title:
Face of betrayal
Author:
ISBN:
9781602854406
Edition:
Large print ed.
Publication Information:
Thorndike, Me. : Center Point Pub., 2009.
Physical Description:
358 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
Number in series:
bk#1
General Note:
Includes discussion questions.
Summary:
"While home on Christmas break, a seventeen-year-old Senate page takes her dog out for a walk and never returns. Reporter Cassidy Shaw is the first to break the story. The resulting media firestorm quickly ensnares Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce and FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedges. The three unique women are life-long friends who call themselves The Triple Threat, a nickname derived from their favorite dessert and their uncanny ability to crack cases via their three positions of power. Though authorities think Katie might have been kidnapped or run away, those theories shatter when Nicole uncovers Katie's blog. They reveal a girl troubled by a mysterious relationship with an older man. Possibly a U.S. Senator ..."--Page 2 of cover.
Added Author:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
LP WIEHL
Searching...
Searching...
Wiehl
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

While home on Christmas holiday, a seventeen-year-old Senate page takes her dog out for a walk and never returns. Reporter Cassidy Shaw is the first to break the story, and the media firestorm that ensues quickly ensnares Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce and FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedge. It appears the young page was romantically involved with a senator - a senator now under suspicion for her disappearance.

As time begins to run out for the missing girl, Cassidy, Allison and Nicole - three fiercely smart and devoted justice-seeking women, will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth.

"Gripping and provocative." - The New York Post


Reviews 3

Publisher's Weekly Review

Wiehl, a Fox News commentator and legal analyst, teams with mystery veteran Henry (Buried Diamonds) on a sizzling political thriller. When 17-year-old Senate page Katie Converse goes missing on her Christmas break near her parents' white Victorian home in Portland, Ore., law enforcement and media personnel go into overdrive in a search for clues. Three friends at the pinnacle of their respective careers-Allison Pierce, a federal prosecutor; Cassidy Shaw, a crime reporter; and Nicole Hedges, an FBI special agent-soon discover that Katie wasn't the picture of innocence painted by her parents. It appears Katie was having an affair with a much older man, a senator whose political career could be derailed if the affair was publicized. The seamless plot offers a plethora of twists and turns. A blurb from Fox News commentator Bill O'Reilly will help draw attention to Wiehl's debut. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Booklist Review

Fans of James Patterson's Women's Murder Club series (in which a group of friends, including a prosecutor, a cop, and a reporter, solve crimes) might be interested in what appears to be the first installment of a new series. Here, the female protagonists are three close friends: a federal prosecutor, a television reporter, and an FBI special agent. They call themselves the Triple Threat Club, and their first case involves the disappearance of a 17-year-old Senate page, who vanished while she was walking her dog. The prime suspect is a certain senator, who may have been involved in an inappropriate relationship with the missing girl. The Triple Threat Club works feverishly to find the girl before it's too late. The novel has some nice touches (for example, we get to know the missing page through entries in her blog), but is there room in the marketplace for something that is, in many ways, a carbon copy of Patterson's more well-known series? Well, yes, there probably is, but that isn't necessarily a good thing.--Pitt, David Copyright 2009 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Home in Portland, OR, for Christmas, 17-year-old Senate page Katie Converse disappears while walking the family dog. The case attracts three women-FBI agent Nicole Hedge, federal prosecutor Allison Pierce, and TV reporter Allison Shaw-who are determined to find Katie and bring her kidnapper to justice. This joint effort by Fox News correspondent Wiehl and mystery author Henry is a good choice for readers of Lisa Gardner's The Survivors Club and James Patterson's "Women's Murder Club" series. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.