Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Denton Little's deathdate : a novel
Format:
Title:
Denton Little's deathdate : a novel
ISBN:
9780553496963

9780553496970

9780553496994

9780553496987
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2015.
Physical Description:
346 pages ; 22 cm.
Series title(s):
Number in series:
1.
Summary:
"In a world where everyone knows the day they will die, a teenage boy is determined to outlive his upcoming expiration date"-- Provided by publisher.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.4 11 180704.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
T RUBIN
Searching...
Searching...
YA FICTION - RUBIN
Searching...
Searching...
Rubin
Searching...
Searching...
YA RUBIN
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

**The Snapchat Original series, Denton's Deathdate, is coming in September!**

Get ready to die laughing: this is an outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager's life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.

Denton Little's Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day on which they will die. For Denton, that's in just two days--the day of his senior prom.

Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle--as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend's hostile sister. (Though he's not totally sure--see, first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton's long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters. . . . Suddenly Denton's life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.

Fall in love with Denton Little!

"Rubin is really funny but like John Green, he manages to be poignant at the same time. You'll laugh out loud while you read this, but you're probably going to tear up a bit too." -- Bustle

"The dialogue is witty and raunchy, the plot is uniquely twisted, and the ending is to die for. This book will fly off the shelves."-- VOYA

"Lance Rubin creates a world in which (almost) everyone can answer the question, 'What would you do if you knew when you were going to die?' and holy s*#! the answers are hilarious. I don't think I've laughed at death so much in a long, long time. Read this book, it'll have you dying." --Isabel Quintero, Morris Award-winning author of Gabi, A Girl in Pieces

"Hilarious, thought-provoking, irreverent, unforgettable. . . . Live your own death, Dent. We love you." --Catherine Gilbert Murdock, author of Dairy Queen

"If Six Feet Under had been created by John Hughes: that's Denton Little's Deathdate. " --Tim Federle, author of The Great American Whatever

"Wildly funny, brilliantly weird, and achingly heartfelt." --Becky Albertalli, Morris Award-winning author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"Highly original, fantastically entertaining, and laugh-out-loud funny, Denton Little's Deathdate is a wild romp through a night like no other." --Jennifer E. Smith, author of T he Geography of You and Me

"An utterly enjoyable, engrossing page-turner." -- Bulletin

"The tweaked contemporary setting, irreverent end-of-life humor, and big, existential questions make this a good pick for fans of John Corey Whaley's Noggin ." -- Publishers Weekly


Author Notes

Lance Rubin is the author of Denton Little's Deathdate . He's worked as an actor and written sketch comedy, including successful runs of The Lance and Ray Show at the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre in New York City. He's also co-written a new musical called Broadway Bounty Hunter . Lance lives in Brooklyn with his wife and son. He is very glad he doesn't know his deathdate. You can follow him online at LanceRubin.com and on Twitter @LanceRubinParty.


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 10 Up-In Denton Little's world, most people know their deathdates, which for Denton will be in his 17th year, the day of prom. Denton tries to live a normal life, even knowing that it will not be a long one. For his final days he decides to truly experience life. He accidentally cheats on his girlfriend while drunk, gets threatened at gunpoint by his girlfriend's ex, develops a purple and red rash all over his body, gets high, is almost run over twice by the same car, and finds out his best friend's mom has been stalking him all of his life. As the end looms closer what else can he do but go to prom and possibly survive his deathdate? Rubin narrates his own book and is an excellent choice, since he created the mind of Denton and he ably captures all of Denton's sarcasm and frankness. It truly feels like listeners are actually traveling along with Denton through all kinds of hilarious and heartbreaking moments. Older teen readers will be drawn into Denton's story, which is filled with dark humor, witty remarks, and crazy situations, and will be rooting for him to survive. After a surprise ending, listeners will be looking forward to the next installment. VERDICT Fans of Barry Lyga's dark humor and John Green's smart characters will enjoy Denton's story.-Sarah Flood, Breckinridge County Public Library, Hardinsburg, KY © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Denton Little lives in a world just like ours, except that most people know the exact day they will die, thanks to advances in the field of "AstroThanatoGenetics." Denton is a so-called "Early," because he's slated to die at age 17. On the day of his funeral, Denton wakes up with a wicked hangover and few memories of the night before, other than that he thinks he broke up with his girlfriend and made out with his best friend's sister. As Denton's death date creeps closer, he develops a strange purple rash, begins to have questions about his late mother, and wonders if he's wasted his short life by trying to live it "normally." Rubin's debut doesn't take itself too seriously-Denton gives a horrible rambling eulogy at his own funeral, and there's even a coordinated dance number at prom-and the open-ended conclusion necessitates a sequel. But the tweaked contemporary setting, irreverent end-of-life humor, and big, existential questions make this a good pick for fans of John Corey Whaley's Noggin. Ages 14-up. Agent: Mollie Glick, Foundry Literary + Media. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

Denton Little -- like most people in Rubins sci-fi world -- has known his death date since elementary school. Unlike most people, however, Dentons death date is remarkably early: the day of his senior prom. As he attends his own funeral and prepares for his upcoming death, he also tries to piece together what drunken activities he participated in the evening before and what exactly that bruise-like thing is on his leg Rubins reading is sarcastic, energetic, humorous, and full of emotion, much like the book itself -- he brings beautiful, satirical life to Denton, his best friends, and the (possibly conspiracy-laden) world of AstroThanatoGenetics. sin gaetano (c) Copyright 2015. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

A young man lives out his last hours in this comedic novel set at a time in the near future in which people grow up knowing when they will die.When 17-year-old Denton wakes up with a hangover in the bed of his best friend's sister with only some groggy memories of what happened the night before, he's horrified that it seems he may have cheated on his girlfriend. Adding urgency to the whole situation is that, due to information gleaned from an improbable quasi-scientific formula, he knows he is just a day away from the date that will be his last. The details surrounding what seems to be a covert tug of war between entities involved in Denton's projected death are vague, remaining so even as the 300-plus-page story concludes, which is sure to frustrate some readers. Yet the novel features warmly real characters. Denton's funny, self-effacing genuineness will keep readers rooting for him. Vivid secondary characters include his goofy, pot-smoking best friend, Paolo, who helpfully urges Denton to "own that shit" in regard to following his heart as well as his quirky, loving family; even the brief snapshots provided of Denton's schoolmates are believable and engaging. The planned companion novel might provide some of the answers missing here, and those who have been charmed by the winsome characters will look forward to it. (Fiction. 14-18) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Ever since he was a kid, Denton Little knew he would die when he was 17 not the precise moment of the day or how, but enough to know he had a deadline by which to accomplish certain goals. That's not that big a deal, though; almost everyone in this near-future tale knows the precise day of his or her death. For the most part, Denton has tried to keep his life fairly normal, but his last day is anything but. The morning of his deathdate, Denton notices a purple splotch on his thigh that slowly grows to cover his whole body, and all day long he experiences near misses with death. As he get closer to midnight on his deathdate, he learns beguiling secrets about his past, particularly regarding his mother, whose deathdate was the same day he was born. Though some readers might be rankled by the one-dimensional women characters and the uneven pacing of this debut novel, they will likely still be intrigued by Denton's charmingly glib first-person narrative and sarcastic, irreverent gallows humor.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2015 Booklist