Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Biscuit finds a friend
Format:
Title:
Biscuit finds a friend
ISBN:
9780060274122

9780060274139

9780061247729

9780064442435

9780758760319

9780613073653

9781442002593

9780780780415
Edition:
1st ed.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperCollins, ©1997.
Physical Description:
24 pages : color illustrations ; 23 cm.
Series title(s):
Summary:
A puppy helps a little duck find its way home to the pond.
Reading Level:
Preschool.

80 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader 0.8.

Reading Counts! 1.1.

Accelerated Reader .8.

Accelerated Reader AR LG 0.8 0.5 43663.

Reading Counts RC K-2 1.1 1 Quiz: 01290 Guided reading level: F.
Added Author:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
JER Cap
Searching...
Searching...
JER Cap
Searching...
Searching...
JER Capucilli
Searching...
Searching...
JER Capucilli
Searching...
Searching...
JER Capucilli
Searching...
Searching...
J LEVEL 1 - CAPUCILLI
Searching...
Searching...
JBB E/K BIS
Searching...
Searching...
Capucilli
Searching...
Searching...
Capucilli
Searching...
Searching...
EARLY CAPUCILLI
Searching...
Searching...
J ER Capucilli
Searching...
Searching...
E LEVEL 1 CAPUCILLI
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody's favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure!

Biscuit is back--and he's got a new friend! In this charming My First I Can Read book, everyone's favorite puppy Biscuit meets an adorable lost duckling. Perfect for shared reading with a child, this story teaches a lesson about finding friends while also helping to boost reading fluency.


Author Notes

Prolific children's book author Alyssa Satin Capucilli was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1957. She earned her B.A. from Sarah Lawrence College in New York, where she has also taught writing. She was a professional dancer and dance instructor before her writing career began. Her first published book was a lift-the-flap work called Peekaboo Bunny, and she is well known for her series for beginning readers featuring the puppy Biscuit.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 4

School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 1‘Capucilli and Schories team up again for another beginning reader featuring Biscuit the puppy. Here, the dog and his young owner find a duckling and reunite it with its family in the pond. Colorful and appealing watercolor illustrations, surrounded by ample white space, support the text. Biscuit's face is filled with new-puppy curiosity and his tail seems to be constantly wagging. Short, simple sentences in large-sized print contribute to the readability. Plenty of "quacks" and "woofs" encourage expressive telling aloud. Sure to be a popular choice.‘Sharon R. Pearce, San Antonio Public Library, TX (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Horn Book Review

Biscuit, a puppy, meets a duckling. In his exuberance to play with the duck, Biscuit falls in the pond. This is the simplest of stories told with an extremely limited vocabulary, often no more than six words per page, and illustrated with overly cute watercolors. From HORN BOOK 1997, (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

Biscuit Finds A Friend (24 pp.; $14.95; PLB $14.89; May 11, 1997; 0-06-027412-3; PLB 0-06-027413-1): A bland throwback to another era in the My First I Can Read series. Biscuit (Biscuit, 1996, not reviewed, etc.) finds a duckling who has lost its parents. With the help of his girl owner, Biscuit reunites duckling and parents, with a dip in the drink and plenty of woofing and quacking to cement the friendship. Not much happens: The restricted vocabulary puts this book in a league with Dick and Jane's leaden exploits, and while the illustrations are sweet, they don't pack much oomph. (Picture book. 3-5)


Booklist Review

Gr. 1. Biscuit, the adorable little tan puppy, finds something under the house. Is it a ball? A bone? No, it's a baby duckling that Biscuit's owner takes back to the pond. The duckling is reunited with its parents and siblings but still wants to follow its new friend Biscuit. Like the previous book, Biscuit (1996), this features short, very simple sentences and nice large shapes set against expanses of white space. Format and content make this just right as a My First I Can Read Book. --Ilene Cooper