Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for A Woodland miracle
Format:
Title:
A Woodland miracle
ISBN:
9781401688301
Publication Information:
Nashville : Thomas Nelson, ©2014.
Publication:
Nashville : Thomas Nelson, [2014]
Physical Description:
x, 342 pages ; 22 cm
Series title(s):
General Note:
Includes reading group guide.
Summary:
Grace Waglers muscle weakness makes for poor marriage prospects in an Amish district where women outnumber men three to one, but she nevertheless raises newcomer Ben Eichers curiosity, and a run-in with two dangerous men brings them even closer.

"For a disadvantaged young woman and a displaced young man, a lasting love is going to take more than chance--it's going to take a miracle. Muscle weakness has left Grace Wagler with a broken body--and her childhood best friend has left her with a broken heart. She can hold her own in the timber camp (and do everything else the other women in Badger Creek can do), but in an Amish district where women outnumber men three to one, marriage is anunlikely prospect for a girl with bad legs. Ben Eicher just arrived in Michigan from Pinecraft, Florida. When his most recent shenanigans proved too much for his dad's patience, Ben was sent to the Upper Peninsula to work in the lumber camp--and he's neither proud of his behavior nor thrilled about his new home. But when Ben meets Grace, the struggling young woman quickly piques his curiosity. Of course, the last thing Grace wants is another friendship with a man who pities her. Tired of physical pain and romantic dead ends, Grace is ready to leave Badger Creek for the muscle specialist in Ohio, even if it contradicts her father's wishes ... and Ben's. Meanwhile, two dangerous men have found their way into the district. It isn't long before their unsavory plans ensnare Grace and Ben in a chase that will not only endanger their lives ... but test their love"-- Provided by publisher.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
ROMANCE Reid, R.
Searching...
Searching...
REID
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

For a disadvantaged young woman and a displaced young man, a lasting love is going to take more than chance--it's going to take a miracle.

Muscle weakness has left Grace Wagler with a broken body--and her childhood best friend has left her with a broken heart. She can hold her own in the timber camp (and do everything else the other women in Badger Creek can do), but in an Amish district where women outnumber men three to one, marriage is an unlikely prospect for a girl with bad legs.

Ben Eicher just arrived in Michigan from Pinecraft, Florida. When his most recent shenanigans proved too much for his daed's patience, Ben was sent to the Upper Peninsula to work in the lumber camp--and he's neither proud of his behavior nor thrilled about his new home.

But when Ben meets Grace, the struggling young woman quickly piques his curiosity. Of course, the last thing Grace wants is another friendship with a man who pities her. Tired of physical pain and romantic dead ends, Grace is ready to leave Badger Creek for the muscle specialist in Ohio, even if it contradicts her father's wishes . . . and Ben's.

Meanwhile, two dangerous men have found their way into the district. It isn't long before their unsavory plans ensnare Grace and Ben in a chase that will not only endanger their lives . . . but test their love.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

Grace Wagler's muscular dystrophy has made walking difficult. Although she holds her own at home, at times she wonders why. With too many pitying glances from men, she is weary of their attentions until she meets Ben Eicher. When he is exiled by his father from Florida to Michigan, Ben's interest in Grace is immediate. She, however is less than thrilled and decides to move to Ohio where she can have access to a muscle specialist, much to the chagrin of her widowed father and Ben. Before she can make the trip, danger arrives in town, threatening Grace and Ben's love and their lives. VERDICT Although her characters lack depth, Reid's second series installment (after A Miracle of Hope) works well as a tender romance with a bit of suspense. A solid pick for fans of Beverly Lewis and Melody Carlson. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.