Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Miss Daisy is crazy!
Format:
Title:
Miss Daisy is crazy!
Author:
ISBN:
9781449864316
Edition:
Unabridged.
Publication Information:
Prince Frederick, MD : Recorded Books, ℗2011.
Physical Description:
1 audio disc (45 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Series title(s):
Number in series:
1.
General Note:
Compact disc.

Title from container.

In container (17 cm.).

"With tracks every 3-6 minutes for easy book marking"--Container.
Summary:
Miss Daisy's unusual teaching methods surprise her second grade students, especially reluctant learner A.J.
Reading Level:
7 years and up.
Added Author:
Added Corporate Author:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
J CD FICTION Gutman
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Author Notes

Dan Gutman was born in New York City on October 19, 1955. He received a degree in psychology from Rutgers University in 1977. He started a video game magazine in 1982 called Video Games Player, which later became Computer Games. When the magazine went out of business in 1985, he decided to become a full-time writer. He wrote several non-fiction baseball books for adults, before changing his focus to non-fiction sports books for children. In 1994, he decided to switch to children's fiction. He is the author of the Baseball Card Adventures Series, My Weird School series, My Weird School Daze series, My Weirder School series, and The Genius Files series. In 2014 his title, Texas with Love, which was the fourth book in the Genius Files Series, made The New York Times Best Seller List.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 4

Publisher's Weekly Review

Well tailored for beginning and reluctant readers, this light, appealingly goofy debut tale in the My Weird School series features short chapters, a relatively large typeface and ample cartoon-style illustrations. On the first day of second grade, narrator A.J. introduces himself to his new teacher by announcing that he likes football and video games-and hates school. He and his classmates are shocked when Miss Daisy replies, "You know what, A.J.? I hate school too." And then she confides that she doesn't understand arithmetic and that she can't read, slyly soliciting her students' help in both subjects. The kids conclude that she just might be an imposter, but wisely decide not to tell the principal, thinking that she'll be replaced by a "real teacher" who knows the three Rs, and then they'll have to learn "all that stuff." The kids' attempts to educate their teacher allows Gutman to slip a sprinkling of math challenges and vocabulary definitions into his breezy narrative, but the lesson of the day here is fun rather than facts. As affable as Miss Daisy, the school's principal goes to the head of the class in the series' second installment, Mr. Klutz Is Nuts! (ISBN 0-06-050700-4), also due this month. Ages 7-10. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Horn Book Review

A. J.'s second-grade teacher, Miss Daisy, claims she can't read, write, or do math problems; his principal, Mr. Klutz, stages a variety of stunts (e.g., he kisses a pig) to motivate his students. Astute readers will realize that teacher and principal actually come out on top in these silly stories that strain too hard for laughs. Spare, cartoony black-and-white art appears throughout. (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.


Kirkus Review

What's up with Miss Daisy? She can't spell, doesn't understand math, and cannot read or write. If it were up to her, the second-graders in her charge would have recess all day. A.J. doesn't like school--he thinks it's a "dumb thing that grown-ups thought up so they wouldn't have to pay for baby-sitters." In the tradition of Sachar, Pilkey, Pinkerton, and Scieszka, Gutman makes a splash with his new series for the just-ready-for-chapter-books readers. When Miss Daisy can't understand multiplication, her helpful class explains it. When she can't spell a word, her students teach her. Cartoon illustrations, ample white space, and a generous font make this inviting for the newest readers. And once they accept the invitation, they will read and share the silly situations with each other. Best of all, the second in the series (Mr. Klutz Is Nuts) has a simultaneous publication, so their enthusiasm will instantly be rewarded. A sure-fire hit for the most reluctant reader. (Fiction. 6-10) Copyright ©Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Gr. 1-3. Second-grader A. J. hates school, but he has to admit that Miss Daisy isn't like any teacher he has had before. She enjoys watching TV and eating chocolate just like A. J., and she is always asking her students for help solving problems in math and spelling. She also takes A. J.'s suggestion to turn the school into a video-game arcade seriously. Principal Klutz agrees to rent out the school for a night (and wear a gorilla suit) if the children read a million pages. Can they do it? The humorous, simply written story, first in the My Weird School series, gets its zest largely from A. J.'s lively, first-person commentary on school life and legend. Reluctant students will have no trouble relating to A. J., and breezy Miss Daisy illustrates how respecting kids and balancing learning with fun can produce positive results. The occasional cartoon line drawings are a good fit. --Shelle Rosenfeld Copyright 2004 Booklist