Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for The silver chair
The silver chair





1st HarperCollins ed.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperCollins, 1994.
Physical Description:
243 pages : illustrations map ; 24 cm.
Number in series:
bk. 6.
Behind the gym -- Jill is given a task -- The sailing of the king -- A parliament of owls -- Puddleglum -- The wild waste lands of the north -- The hill of the strange trenches -- The house of Harfang -- How they discovered something worth knowing -- Travels without the sun -- In the dark castle -- The queen of underland -- Underland without the queen -- The bottom of the world -- The disappearance of Jill -- The healing of harms.
Two English children undergo hair-raising adventures as they go on a search and rescue mission for the missing Prince Rilian, who is held captive in the underground kingdom of the Emerald Witch.
Reading Level:
Middle School.

840 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader 5.7.

Reading Counts! 5.7.
Added Author:


Call Number
J Lewis, C.

On Order



A beautiful hardcover edition of The Silver Chair, book six in the classic fantasy series, The Chronicles of Narnia. The full color jacket features art by three time Caldecott Medal-winning illustrator, David Wiesner, and black-and-white interior art by the series' original illustrator, Pauline Baynes.

Through dangers untold and caverns deep and dark, a noble band of friends is sent to rescue a prince held captive. But their mission to Underland brings them face-to-face with an evil more beautiful and more deadly than they ever expected.

C. S. Lewis works his magic once again in The Silver Chair, the sixth book in the classic fantasy series, which has been drawing readers of all ages into a magical land with unforgettable characters for over sixty years. This is a complete stand-alone read, but if you want to discover what happens in the final days of Narnia, read The Last Battle, the seventh and concluding book in The Chronicles of Narnia.

Author Notes

C. S. (Clive Staples) Lewis, "Jack" to his intimates, was born on November 29, 1898 in Belfast, Ireland. His mother died when he was 10 years old and his lawyer father allowed Lewis and his brother Warren extensive freedom. The pair were extremely close and they took full advantage of this freedom, learning on their own and frequently enjoying games of make-believe.

These early activities led to Lewis's lifelong attraction to fantasy and mythology, often reflected in his writing. He enjoyed writing about, and reading, literature of the past, publishing such works as the award-winning The Allegory of Love (1936), about the period of history known as the Middle Ages.

Although at one time Lewis considered himself an atheist, he soon became fascinated with religion. He is probably best known for his books for young adults, such as his Chronicles of Narnia series. This fantasy series, as well as such works as The Screwtape Letters (a collection of letters written by the devil), is typical of the author's interest in mixing religion and mythology, evident in both his fictional works and nonfiction articles.

Lewis served with the Somerset Light Infantry in World War I; for nearly 30 years he served as Fellow and tutor of Magdalen College at Oxford University. Later, he became Professor of Medieval and Renaissance English at Cambridge University.

C.S. Lewis married late in life, in 1957, and his wife, writer Joy Davidman, died of cancer in 1960. He remained at Cambridge until his death on November 22, 1963.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

School Library Journal Review

Gr 6-8-King Caspian has grown old and sad in the ten years since the disappearance of his only son. Jill and Eustace embark on a perilous quest to find the Prince. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Horn Book Review

(Intermediate) When Jill and Eustace escape from their dour private school through an unlocked door, they find themselves in a world filled with talking animals, giants, and evil witches. Jill's encounter with the lion Aslan sets the wheels of adventure in motion: they must find the lost prince Rilian, heir to the throne. With Northam, listeners are in the hands of a master storyteller. He deftly portrays the two bickering competitive young adventurers, then deepens his voice and slows his pace for the mighty lion. Each of the creatures along the way is given its own unique personality as well. While this volume may not be the most amenable to audio format -- the plot is leisurely -- aficionados of the series will be delighted to enter Narnia once again. (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

1 Behind the Gymp. 3
2 Jill Is Given a Taskp. 19
3 The Sailing of the Kingp. 33
4 A Parliament of Owlsp. 48
5 Puddleglump. 63
6 The Wild Waste Lands of the Northp. 78
7 The Hill of the Strange Trenchesp. 95
8 The House of Harfangp. 110
9 How They Discovered Something Worth Knowingp. 126
10 Travels Without the Sunp. 140
11 In the Dark Castlep. 156
12 The Queen of Underlandp. 171
13 Underland Without the Queenp. 186
14 The Bottom of the Worldp. 200
15 The Disappearance of Jillp. 214
16 The Healing of Harmsp. 228