Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for The 7th victim : a novel
Format:
Title:
The 7th victim : a novel
Other title(s):
Seventh victim
ISBN:
9781593154943
Publication Information:
New York : Vanguard Press, ©2008.
Physical Description:
420 pages ; 25 cm
Series title(s):
Number in series:
1.
Summary:
As FBI Profiling Unit's Special Agent Karen Vail works on the case of the Dead Eyes Killer, his seventh victim unlocks dangerous secrets that threaten both her career and life.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Jacobson, A.
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION - JACOBSON
Searching...
Searching...
FIC JACOBSON 2008
Searching...
Searching...
FIC JACOBSEN
Searching...
Searching...
Jacobson
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The Dead Eyes Killer lurks in the backyard of the famed FBI Profiling Unit. His brutal murders confound the local task force, despite the gifted profiling skills of Special Agent Karen Vail. But along with Vail's insight and expertise comes considerable personal and professional baggage.

On leave pending a review of her assault on her abusive ex-husband, Vail must battle forces determined to bring her down, as she fights to find Dead Eyes before he murders more young women. But the seventh victim is the key to all that stirs this killer... the key that will unlock secrets perhaps too painful for Vail to bear. These are secrets that threaten to destroy her, secrets that will bring down her storied career. For Karen Vail, the truth rests at the heart of a lie. And uncovering itcould get her killed...

With material meticulously researched during seven years of study with the Bureau's vaunted profiling unit, Alan Jacobson brings refreshing realism and unprecedented accuracy to his pages.

The 7th Victim is a page-turner as only Alan Jacobson can write, with a stunning twist of an ending that will satisfy even the most discerning thriller reader.


Author Notes

Alan Jacobson's first novel, False Accusations (Pocket Books) was a national bestseller in paperback. He received his Bachelor of Arts in English Writing form Queens College of the City of New York, and his doctorate from Palmer College of Chiropractic West in San Jose, California. He achieved prominence as an Agreed Medical Examiner, and was subsequently appointed to the position of Qualified Medical Evaluator by the State of California. He has extensive experience testifying as an expert witness, which has exposed him to the many strengths and weaknesses of the judicial system. Dr. Jacobson lives in Northern California.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Publisher's Weekly Review

In Jacobson's tepid third thriller (after Hunted and False Accusations), FBI profiler Karen Vail is obsessed with bringing to justice the Dead Eyes Killer, who's gruesomely slain several women in Virginia. The action alternates between Karen's attempts to unravel the clues left behind at the crime scenes and glimpses of the Dead Eyes Killer himself as he stalks future victims. A messy divorce and custody battle threaten to distract Karen, as do her tentative relationship with a local detective and disturbing revelations about her family history. The author fails to put a fresh spin on any of the genre's cliches--the serial killer who taunts law enforcement, the FBI agent with an implausible connection to the case, the chaotic crime scene that contains clues only the hero can crack. Though Jacobson's research into the FBI's Behavioral Analysis Unit is evident, he overloads his story with too much information and unbelievable coincidences. 5-city author tour. (Nov.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Booklist Review

Jacobson, a former chiropractor and author of two previous thrillers, has a new entry in the ever-burgeoning serial killer genre. Previously a cop with the NYPD, Special Agent Karen Vail is now the first female profiler at the FBI's elite Behavioral Analysis Unit. Vail is assigned to the Dead Eyes case so named because the killer shoves steak knives into his female victims' eyes after they are dead. The killer becomes emboldened by the bureau's inability to catch him until Vail finds the key to the bloody puzzle with the seventh victim. A key that unlocks something in her own past something so terrible that it may cause her to become the eighth victim. At first, this novel seems cookie cutter. Vail has got the same issues as most of the FBI special agents in all the other serial-killer books an overbearing boss, an abusive ex-husband, a teenage son with issues, and a colleague out to make her look bad but the action picks up, the plot twists begin, and the ending is a shocker. For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Nelson DeMille, and James Patterson.--Gannon, Michael Copyright 2008 Booklist


Library Journal Review

In Jacobson's (The Hunted) enthralling and fast-paced thriller, FBI agent Karen Vail must ID a deranged serial killer while grappling with an abusive ex-husband, a custody battle for her teenage son, and the expected professional conflicts. The story reaches an incredulous conclusion but should keep suspense fans pleased. Actress/voice-over artist Lila Wellesley's expert, steady reading sustains the tension. Recommended for mystery and suspense collections in public libraries. [The Vanguard hc, recently optioned for film, was "strongly recommended for all popular fiction collections," LJ 9/15/08.-Ed.]-Phillip Oliver, Univ. of North Alabama Lib., Florence (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.