Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for 25 days 'til Christmas
Format:
Title:
25 days 'til Christmas
Other title(s):
Twenty-five days until Christmas
ISBN:
9780062958792
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Publication:
New York : Willaim Morrow, 2019.
Physical Description:
344 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
"Kate Potter used to love Christmas. A few years ago, she would have been wrapping her presents in September and baking mince pies on Halloween, counting down the days and hours to Christmas. But that was before Kate's husband left for the army and never came home. Now she can hardly stand December at all. Kate can't deny she's lonely, yet she doesn't think she's ready for romance. She knows that her son, Jack, needs a Christmas to remember--just like Kate needs a miracle to help her finally move forward with her life. So she's decided if there isn't a miracle on its way, she'll just have to make her own. As Kate's advent countdown to the best Christmas ever begins, she soon realizes that even with the best laid plans, you can't plan for the unexpected. For when the path of the loneliest woman in town crosses with that of the loneliest man, these two destined hearts might find a way to save the holiday for the both of them." -- Back cover.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
ROMANCE Alexander, P.
Searching...
Searching...
ROM ALEXANDER
Searching...
Searching...
ROMANCE Alexander, P.
Searching...
Searching...
Alexander
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In this heartwarming, feel-good holiday novel, one woman needs to find a little inspiration in the 25 days leading up to Christmas to help her remember the magic of the season and the magic of falling in love--perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Josie Silver.



Kate Potter used to love Christmas. A few years ago, she would have been wrapping her presents in September and baking mince pies on Halloween, counting down the days and hours to Christmas. But that was before Kate's husband left for the army and never came home. Now she can hardly stand December at all.

Kate can't deny she's lonely, yet she doesn't think she's ready for romance. She knows that her son, Jack, needs a Christmas to remember--just like Kate needs a miracle to help her finally move forward with her life. So she's decided if there isn't a miracle on its way, she'll just have to make her own.

As Kate's advent countdown to the best Christmas ever begins, she soon realizes that even with the best laid plans, you can't plan for the unexpected. For when the path of the loneliest woman in town crosses with that of the loneliest man, these two destined hearts might find a way to save the holiday for both of them.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Alexander pulls at readers' heartstrings with this sweet holiday novel. Kate Potter, a single mother to six-year-old Jack, has been struggling to make ends meet ever since her husband died in the army. Tired of her dead-end job and overdue bills, she makes a plan to rekindle her love for Christmas and give Jack a holiday to remember. The eccentric cast of characters is Kate's support system: they prove that it truly takes a village to raise a child, especially when Jack is labeled as having special needs and the school decides to kick him out. Despite the many obstacles being thrown Kate's way, she is determined to make this Christmas special for Jack, and maybe even find herself in love with another lonely heart, Daniel. In alternating viewpoints between Kate and Daniel, readers will see their love story unfold as they conquer the Advent-calendar countdown Kate created as part of her Christmas revival. Readers who enjoy Jenny Colgan and Jill Mansell will be thrilled to pick up this novel.--Crystal Vela Copyright 2010 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Zoe had been ill for a while, and not long into the new year, she passed away. Her husband, Daniel, has felt her loss every day, but the impending holiday season and their annual traditions, including a visit with the Christmas Tree Girl, weigh on his heart already. Kate, aka Christmas Tree Girl, was widowed four years ago and dreads the holidays for her own reasons, most centered on a lack of money and worry about her six-year-old son, Jack. When a friend suggests Kate create an advent calendar with 25 "easy steps" to a Christmas miracle, Kate thinks, Why not? Can this holiday countdown bring together two people who so obviously need each other? VERDICT Pseudonomous author Alexander's poignant story of loss and grief also hints at hope for future happiness. Reading about characters getting what they deserve is satisfying, and it's easy to imagine this book as the next megahit holiday film.