Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for The shadowglass
The shadowglass
Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Fire, [2019]
Physical Description:
xvi, 456 pages : map ; 22 cm.
Series title(s):
Number in series:
General Note:
Sequel to: The heart forger.
Tea's life, and the fate of the kingdoms, hang in the balance as the Dark grows in her day by day.


Call Number
TEEN Chupeco, R.
Chupeco, R.

On Order



The epic finale to The Bone Witch series! As Tea's dark magic eats away at her, she must save the one she loves most, even while her life--and the kingdoms--are on the brink of destruction.

In the Eight Kingdoms, none have greater strength or influence than the asha, who hold elemental magic. But only a bone witch has the power to raise the dead. Tea has used this dark magic to breathe life into those she has loved and lost...and those who would join her army against the deceitful royals. But Tea's quest to conjure a shadowglass, to achieve immortality for the one person she loves most in the world, threatens to consume her.

Tea's heartsglass only grows darker with each new betrayal. Her work with the monstrous azi, her thirst for retribution, her desire to unmask the Faceless--they all feed the darkrot that is gradually consuming her heartsglass. She is haunted by blackouts and strange visions, and when she wakes with blood on her hands, Tea must answer to a power greater than the elder asha or even her conscience. Tea's life--and the fate of the kingdoms--hangs in the balance.

Perfect for readers of Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Boneand Holly Black's The Cruel Prince!

The Bone Witch Series:
The Bone Witch (Book 1)
The Heart Forger (Book 2)
The Shadowglass (Book 3)

"Chupeco delights. Exceptionally written from beginning to end."--Buzzfeed on The Bone Witch

Author Notes

Despite uncanny resemblances to Japanese revenants, Rin Chupeco has always maintained her sense of humor. Raised in Manila, Philippines, she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. She's been a technical writer and a travel blogger but now makes things up for a living. She is the author of The Girl from the Well, The Suffering, The Bone Witch trilogy, and the A Hundred Named for Magic trilogy. Connect with Rin at rinchupeco.com.

Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 7 Up-In this series conclusion, Tea must make decisions and sacrifices that will impact the fate of everyone in the Eight Kingdoms. Questions of good, evil, right, and wrong loom large as she begins to question everyone around her-and even her own sanity. Head-over-heels romance, terrifying curses, political intrigue, and epic magical battles will appeal to fantasy enthusiasts. Like the first two books, this one is a strong example of non-European-centric fantasy. Influences from all over Asia combine with strong world-building and lush descriptions to transport readers from icebound mountains to barren deserts and back again. There are elements of legends and epics throughout, but ultimately the story focuses on love in all its beautiful and messy forms. Complex characters with human flaws rise to the occasion or fall victim to their baser instincts in unexpected but ultimately relatable ways, and teens will find the tension between characters' intentions and actions particularly compelling. VERDICT A must-purchase for any library that serves teens.-Heather Waddell, Abbot Public Library, Marblehead, MA © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Kirkus Review

Tea prepares to make the greatest sacrifice in this impassioned finale to the Bone Witch series.In the present, Fox angrily searches for his bone witch sister, Tea, who will stop at nothing to save him from the half-life he has been living since she raised him from the dead. In the past, Tea is on a quest for First Harvest, the magical plant she needs to revive her brother, which she can only use after acquiring shadowglass. Conjuring shadowglass requires a black heart, and Tea's darkens as she continues to wield dark magic to achieve her goals. More and more lose faith in her when she becomes plagued with haunting visions and, in her sleep, kills an innocent with her own hands. But someone is using a blight rune to transform people into terrifying daevalike monsters, and it may very well be the same traitor in Tea's inner circle who has been poisoning her. Though the storylines never truly converge, readers gain insight into Tea's destructive choices and their aftereffects. Exhaustive explanations of asha history are important to the plot but weighty. Transgender Likh's exploration of her identity honestly complements Tea's own journey toward self-discovery, and readers will root for both their romances. Characters have a variety of skin tones, but race is not significant in this world.A worthy conclusion to a story that is, at its core, about love and letting go. (maps, kingdom guide) (Fantasy. 13-adult) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Booklist Review

Chupeco brings her Bone Witch trilogy to a bittersweet close in this final volume of dark asha Tea's saga. It begins in medias res with characters previously loyal to Tea now turned against her and Tea's whereabouts unknown. These scenes, filled with confusion and anger, are juxtaposed with letters Tea sends to her bard, detailing her activities and revelations since leaving him behind. Thus, readers bounce back and forth in time, growing ever nearer to the present moment while cobbling together her story. Tea's desire to expose corruption within asha society drives her as much as her determination to create a shadow glass for the sake of saving her brother, Fox. Her dual quests take her to various kingdoms, but her increasingly dangerous, unpredictable behavior fractures her supporters. Chupeco really digs into asha mythology here, challenging characters' beliefs none more than Tea's. While this builds tension and further enriches the world, it decidedly slows the story's action. Nevertheless, it remains required reading for fans of the first two novels, whose many questions will finally be answered.--Julia Smith Copyright 2010 Booklist