Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Fire truck dreams
Format:
Title:
Fire truck dreams
ISBN:
9780762462858
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York : Running Press, 2018.
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 23 x 26 cm
Summary:
A busy fire truck readies for sleep after a long day.
Added Author:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
JPT GO! Chriscoe
Searching...
Searching...
JPT GO! Chriscoe
Searching...
Searching...
CHRISCOE
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

For fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site comes an exciting new bedtime story about a brave little fire truck.


A fire truck has had a big day of putting out fires and saving kittens, and now it's time to sleep. After making sure all is quiet and safe, he rolls back into the station for a shower, swishes and swigs a bedtime refreshment, and settles in with a bedtime story. But a hero's job is never done, and the fire truck dreams of taming a ferocious campfire and celebrating the end of his exciting day with s'mores!

This delightful book about a heroic fire truck preparing for bed will be a favorite for any fan of fire trucks and everyday heroes. As always, Sharon Chriscoe lulls the reader with her witty and gentle rhyming verse, accompanied by Dave Mottram's charming illustrations. Fire Truck Dreams is certain to bring joy to any bedtime routine.


Author Notes

Sharon Chriscoe loved being a girl scout-and even though a fire truck never visited her campsite, she did enjoy her share of delicious s'mores. She is the author of Race Car Dreams , illustrated by Dave Mottram, Bulldozer Dreams , illustrated by John Joven, and The Sparrow and the Trees , illustrated by Susan Detwiler. Sharon and her family live in Pilot Mountain, NC.

Dave Mottram always wanted to be an illustrator. He drew pictures until there was no paper left, then he drew on grocery bags. Nowadays he draws on his daughter's lunch bags and illustrates children's books in Ohio where he lives with his family.


Reviews 2

Horn Book Review

A siren turns off. The sun fades away. / Fire truck is drained. He's had a big day." Three books into her dreaming-vehicles suite (Bulldozer Dreams; Race Car Dreams), Chriscoe delivers fresh rhymes to describe a bedtime routine, complete with (car wash) bath, a (gas station) snack, and sweet (rescue) dreams. Mottram's chunky, gauzy art fittingly seems cloaked in moonlight. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

Chriscoe and Mottram continue their series of books about sleep-bound vehicles with a look at the greatest of all emergency trucks.After a long day of kitten rescues and brush fires, a fully anthropomorphized and quite sleepy fire truck makes his way home. After a routine check to make sure all is well in town, he has a shower, fills his tummy at the Swish and Swig, and checks out a book from the Rescue Readers Library. Once he falls asleep, a dream ensues, in which he douses out a campfire and enjoys a parade in his honor. A hint of melancholy accompanies the truck's dreams, as the adulation of the dream crowds is starkly contrasted with the fire truck's waking life, alone and unheralded save for the presence of his faithful dog. The book deviates not a jot from the pre-established formula begun with Race Car Dreams (2016) and continued through Bulldozer Dreams (2017). Humans appear only in the dream sequence, while the autonomous truck takes care of its own needs. Digital art reflects the shifting shades of evening, continuing even through the dream.In a teeming sea of fire-truck books, this little sleeper won't create much of a blip on the sonar. (Picture book. 3-6) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.