Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Construction site on Christmas night
Format:
Title:
Construction site on Christmas night
ISBN:
9781452139111
Publication:
San Francisco, California : Chronicle Books LLC, [2018]
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 26 x 27 cm
Summary:
It is Christmas Eve, and all the construction vehicles are finishing up work on the site, and when they leave they find that there is a special present waiting for each of them.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader LG 3.4 0.5 Quiz No. 197877 EN Fiction
Added Author:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
JP HOLIDAY Rinker
Searching...
Searching...
JP HOLIDAY Rinker
Searching...
Searching...
+ Rinker
Searching...
Searching...
J CHRISTMAS - RINKER
Searching...
Searching...
RINKER
Searching...
Searching...
RINKER
Searching...
Searching...
JP RINKER
Searching...
Searching...
JP HOLIDAY Rinker
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site series. More than two million copies have sold across the series!

Created for lovers of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site , as well as fans of Sherri Duskey Rinker's storytelling and AG Ford's art, this beautiful holiday picture book shows Excavator, Bulldozer, Crane, Dump Truck and Cement Mixer building a new home for fire engines. As they finish their big, important job, they get their own Christmas surprises. Your kids will have fun discovering the special surprise awaiting each vehicle as much as they will love rhyming along with the story. This cute book is sure to be a classic!

Art by illustrator AG Ford.

* A Christmas tale with a great message
* Teaches kids the joy of giving and the value of work
* Rhythmic patterns make reading fun

Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site , Mighty, Mighty Construction Site , and Excavator's 123 will be excited about this children's holiday book.

* Ideal Christmas gift for little ones
* Perfect book for children who like construction, trucks, fire engines, cars, and building things
* Parents, grandparents, and teachers will have fun reading this action-packed story to kids


Author Notes

Sherri Duskey Rinker is the author of #1New York Times bestsellersGoodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site;Steam Train, Dream Train; andMighty, Mighty Construction Site, andThe 12 Sleighs of Christmas. She loves cooking, gardening, and old oil paintings. Sherri lives with her photographer husband, two sons, one dog, and one hedgehog in St. Charles, Illinois. Find out more about her at Sherriduskeyrinker.com.

A recipient of the NAACP Image Award, AG Ford has illustrated many award-winning books for children includingGoal! by Mina Javaherbin and theNew York Times bestsellerBarack by Jonah Winter. He lives in Dallas, Texas.


Reviews 4

School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 1-Rinker is back with her construction vehicles prepping for the holidays. The rhyming text follows how the machines work hard to construct a "special house" that must be ready for Christmas Eve. Each machine is allotted three or four pages to describe their work, before being given a gift (Bulldozer gets a new carbon steel blade), and then bidden Merry Christmas and Goodnight. Once Crane finishes the job by topping the construction with a star, new fire trucks and rescue vehicles roll in, and readers realize what has been built: a new fire station. As usual, these happy trucks are anthropomorphized just enough to appeal to kids. The neocolor wax oil crayon illustrations offer bright colors and scenes that are engaging without being overwhelming, ending with peaceful, snowy scenes. Although this is a bit lengthy for toddler audiences, children will love shouting out the names of the vehicles and the parts they are gifted, as well as guessing what they're creating. -VERDICT Rinker's popularity makes this holiday title a first purchase for all public libraries. It's perfect for one-on-one and small group sharing.-Liz Anderson, DC Public Library © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Christmas has arrived at the construction site, and the trucks are finishing up their hard work building a special house. As night comes and snow falls, each truck receives a special gift. Writing in upbeat couplets, Rinker describes each truck's duties. "Cement Mixer has concrete to pour:/ he lays the foundation, walls, and floor." By introducing the trucks individually, Rinker allows the excitement of each finding their gifts to resonate every time. Finally, their work is done, and fire trucks roll into "a new home, built just right." Ford's oil crayon renderings of the trucks are gently expressive. Truck lovers will gladly welcome the friendly rigs for Christmas. Ages 3-5. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

Return to the world of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site with the same dedicated trucks and action-packed rhymesnow with a bit of holiday cheer thrown in. As the smiling construction trucks complete the last big project of the year, with as much enthusiasm as ever, they each find a Christmas gift from the crew (e.g., a shiny new scoop, candy canestriped gear). The trucks hard work is rewarded with all sorts of surprises, and thanks to their efforts, the fire trucks have a star-bedecked new home for Christmas Eve. The construction sites characteristic illustrations (by Ford, taking over from Tom Lichtenheld) in wax oil crayon consisting of bold lines and plenty of red, orange, yellow, and blue here contain a seasonal touch: patches of white snow. colleen shea (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

A jolly team of trucks rushes to build a firehouse in time for Christmas.With a big-city skyline in the background, Bulldozer clears the way for Excavator to dig the foundation. Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, and Crane Truck all do their parts for a brand-new fire station. As each ends his day (not one of these anthropomorphized trucks is gendered female, unfortunately), a special gift just for him awaits, with a thank-you card attached from the trucks' unseen human crew. Rinker tells the story in rhyming couplets set in sans serif type that moves along with the trucks: "An icy wind blows in his face / but Dump Truck revs to keep the pace. / His back is sore, his tires are shot, / but Dump Truck gives it all he's got." Emulating Tom Lichtenheld's style for this companion to the perennial bestseller, Ford's colored-pencil illustrations in soft, rich tones vary between full double-page spreads and framed insets, shifting focus from each truck's individual effort to the overall task at hand. The entire story is framed by spreads front and back that show the trucks asleep, ending with the words that are repeated throughout: "Merry Christmas! Andgoodnight." A crescent moon smiles benevolently above all.A lovely book that ties the Christmas message of friendship and generosity to the satisfaction of a job well-done. (Picture book. 3-7) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.