Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Sleepover Duck!
Format:
Title:
Sleepover Duck!
ISBN:
9780385384179

9780375973451
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York : Random House, [2018]
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 26 cm
Summary:
Duck and Cat have their very first sleepover in the barn.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
JP Bramsen
Searching...
Searching...
JP Bramsen
Searching...
Searching...
+ PRESCHOOL - BRAMSEN
Searching...
Searching...
New Experiences Bramsen
Searching...
Searching...
JP Bramsen
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Join Duck and Cat - from Hey, Duck! and Just a Duck? - for an adventurous barn sleepover in their third picture book together! Perfectfor fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie series.

It's Duck's very first sleepover . . . and it's in Cat's barn! But a "Hooot, Hooot" is keeping Duck from getting any sleep. So Duck and Cat set off to search high and low to find out just who is doing all that hooting. Full of your favorite barnyard animals and their memorable sounds, young readers will love this delightfully funny and endearing story.

Look for these other books featuring Duck and Cat-

Hey, Duck!

Just a Duck?


Praise for Carin Bramsen's Duck and Cat books!

Hey, Duck!

"A sweet, tender and charming experience to read aloud or together." - Kirkus Reviews

". . . should tickle preschoolers." - Publishers Weekly

Just a Duck?

"Outstanding . . . An endearing story for group or one-on-one sharing." - School Library Journal

"The tale is equal in every way to the visual appeal . . . Sweet, tender and delightful." - Kirkus Reviews

"A gently funny story of the differences, similarities, and compromises that make for rewarding friendships" - Publishers Weekly

2016 Buckeye Book Award nominee!


Author Notes

CARIN BRAMSEN is the illustrator of The Yellow Tutu as well as the author and illustrator of Hey, Duck! and Just a Duck? After she illustrated the last page of Sleepover Duck , she fell into a deep and happy sleep. You can visit her (awake or asleep) atcarinbramsen.com


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 1-Duck and his friend Cat are back for a third adventure-this time on a sleepover! When Duck gets permission to spend the night in the barn with Cat, he's all "a-quack." He envisions a fun evening dancing and having fun but Cat's ready to sleep. Their first attempt at slumber, however, is interrupted by a mysterious "woo-hoo." Young readers will easily figure out that it's a small owl sneaking around in the background who's making the noise, but Duck and Cat will have to investigate. They ask all of the other sleepy animals about the sound to no avail. When Duck finally wearies of the hunt and tries to fall asleep, Owl reveals himself. Rather than playing together, though, they all decide it's time to sleep. The rhyming story is at times confusing and offers nothing new for readers. But children will enjoy the rendered illustrations that make the animals look soft, fluffy, and expressive. VERDICT Purchase where the first two titles are popular.-Mary Kuehner, Arapahoe Library District, CO © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Previously seen in Hey, Duck! and Just a Duck?, Bramsen's eminently fuzzy yellow duckling is having a sleepover in the barn with best friend Cat, but sleep is the last thing on Duck's mind ("Must we nod off right now?/ Alas, I've just forgotten how"). After hearing a "woo-hoo" from somewhere in the barn, Duck tries to figure out who else is in the mood to party, approaching slumbering baby animals and their mothers ("Ms. Sow's asleep. Her piglets, too./ So where's the one who said woo-hoo?"). Young children will enjoy pointing out the culprit, a small gray owl hanging out in the periphery. Duck's sleepover enthusiasm is infectious, and Bramsen's illustrations have a glossy, three-dimensional quality that should help readers feel as though they are part of the fun. Ages 3-7. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Kirkus Review

Duck is ready for adventure, and Cat is willing to join in the fun.Exuberance and over-the-top enthusiasm are Duck's forte, and the little bird's excitement reaches new heights at a sleepover with Cat. Duck is ready for a jamboree, while Cat is much more laid back and mellow. Cat tries to lull Duck into a restful sleep, but the little one is wired. They hear another creature ready to party, calling "Woo-hoooo!" The two friends search the barn, encountering cows, horses, sheep, and pigs in various stages of slumber. It is little Owlette who is the source of the hoots. Owlette has been playing hide-and-seek with them, greatly enjoying the party night. (Children will easily spot the mysterious guest and will enjoy being steps ahead of Cat and Duck.) Now they are all tuckered out and ready to sleep. Cat and Duck are as delightful as ever in this third outing in the series (Hey Duck!, 2013; Just a Duck, 2015). The interspecies friends, gender unspecified, are thoroughly happy in each other's company. The tale is told in brief, simply rhymed sentences, with a different typeface for each creature's part in the conversations. Bramsen's meticulously drawn illustrations are remarkably tactile and textured. The characters' expressive facial expressions and body language perfectly enhance the action. There is a pleasing variety of single- and double-page spreads, panels, and vignettes, all in bright, colorful array.Little readers will feel the warmth of these loving, endearing friends. (Picture book. 3-6) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.