Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Against the rules
Against the rules
First world hardcover edition.
Sutton, Surrey, England : Severn House, 2015.
Physical Description:
231 pages ; 23 cm.
Number in series:
General Note:
"First published 1983 in the USA in mass market form only"--Title page verso.
When Cathryn Ashe was seventeen, she ran away to the anonymity of the city after a romantic encounter with Rule Jackson, the manager of her father's ranch. Now, eight years later, her father has passed away, leaving her the ranch, and Cathryn returns to claim what's hers ... and to challenge Rule like never before.
Conference Subject:
Geographic Term:



Call Number
Howard, L.

On Order



"You can't just read one Linda Howard" Catherine Coulter
Cathryn Ashe is looking to make a quick trip back home to the ranch she's owned for years since her father's death before returning to her city life. When she was seventeen, she and Rule Jackson, the ranch manager, had a torrid entanglement after which she ran away. Now, eight years later, she returns, sure of herself and her newfound independence and ready to challenge him again.
But Rule had raised the stakes, and if she lost now the penalty would be high: her heart, the heart that she finally knew had always been his for the taking.
But Rule, once wild and now reformed, has never been as passionate about any woman as he is with Cathryn. However the two of them together always end up fighting and disagreeing. As she stays longer, Rule can't help but fall in love with her. Can Rule show Cathryn that they are meant to be together?

Author Notes

Linda Howard was born on August 3, 1950. She went on to a small community college, as the only journalism major, but soon dropped out to work at a trucking company as a secretary. She sold her first book to Silhouette Books in 1980. She has written over 50 books including Up Close and Dangerous, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Cover of Night, Killing Time, To Die For, Kiss Me While I Sleep, Cry No More, Dying to Please, Open Season, All the Queen's Men, Kill and Tell, Mr. Perfect, Son of the Morning, Troublemaker, and The Woman Left Behind. She has received several awards including the Romance Writers of America's RITA, the Silver Pen for Affaire de Coeur as well as the Romantic Time's Reviewer's Choice Award for Best Sensual Romance, the Romantic Times Magazine Reviewer's Choice Award for Series, and the W.I.S.H. Award for her character Joe Mackenzie.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Booklist Review

As far as Cathryn Cat Donahue is concerned, coming back home to the Bar D ranch is a mistake. It has been three years since Cat last visited, but she isn't even out of the airport before Rule Jackson is annoying the hell out of her. Ever since their torrid one-night stand years ago, Cat has avoided spending any significant amount of time at the ranch. However, now that she is the legal owner, Rule believes that Cat's place is at the Bar D and not in Chicago. She finally agrees to take the idea under consideration, but only if he promises to keep his hands to himself. A rule which ultimately proves difficult for both of them to follow. Howard's tale has a definite old-school flavor, which isn't surprising since it was originally published in 1983, but readers who like their romances fueled with plenty of red-hot sexual chemistry and relish bad-boy heroes with testosterone to spare will love this early work by best-selling Howard (Shadow Woman, 2013) in its first hardcover edition.--Charles, John Copyright 2015 Booklist