Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for The creepy case files of Margo Maloo
Format:
Title:
The creepy case files of Margo Maloo
ISBN:
9781626723399

9781250188267

9781549077586
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York : First Second, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press, 2016.
Physical Description:
121 pages : chiefly color illustrations, maps ; 16 x 23 cm
Number in series:
bk. 1
Summary:
After moving to Echo City, Charles finds himself at the mercy of the town's monsters, but lucky for him there is Margo Maloo, monster mediator.
Program Information:
A/R 3.0 middle grades 1.0 points.

Accelerated Reader 3.0.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
YA 741.5 WEING
Searching...
Searching...
J WEING, D.
Searching...
Searching...
J GRAPHIC Weing, D.
Searching...

On Order

Library
Copy
Collection/Status
Parts
McMinnville Public Library1Received on 3/22/19

Summary

Summary

Charles just moved to Echo City, and some of his new neighbors give him the creeps. They sneak into his room, steal his toys, and occasionally, they try to eat him. The place is teeming with monsters!Lucky for Charles, Echo City has Margo Maloo, monster mediator. No matter who's causing trouble, Margo knows exactly what to do-the neighborhood kids say monsters are afraid of her. It's a good thing, because Echo City's trolls, ogres, and ghosts all have one thing in common: they don't like Charles very much.Cartooning powerhouse Drew Weing delivers a breakthrough graphic novel with this first volume of The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo. A favorite within the indie comics scene, Weing is definitely a talent worthy of greater recognition.


Author Notes

Drew Weing lives in Athens, Georgia with his wife, cartoonist Eleanor Davis, and too many cats. He makes comics for print and online, among which are the nautical graphic novel Set to Sea, the infinite canvas webcomic Pup, and the early-reader comic Flop to the Top, which he co-authored with his wife. drewweing.com


Reviews 4

School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-6-When Charles and his parents move to Echo City, their new home is a mostly abandoned apartment building where the family can live for free while doing repairs. The boy is less than thrilled about his rundown surroundings but completely undone by the monster he sees in his room at night. A new friend puts him in touch with Margo Maloo, a young "monster mediator" who introduces him to the troll-Marcus-who lives in his basement, and Charles's opinion of life in Echo City skyrockets. Other stories in the volume involve a lonely, mischievous ghost and a kidnapped baby ogre whose mother thinks Charles is responsible for her child going missing. Throughout, tough, mysterious, motorbike-riding Margo tolerates Charles's bumbling, enthusiastic presence, eventually agreeing to take him on as her assistant, a move that promises future adventures for lucky readers. Weing's colorful drawings reward extended examination; Echo City is rife with monster life, and creepy crawlies turn up in the most unexpected places, but domestic scenes and the city streets also show the artist's keen eye for details. VERDICT This charming graphic novel is ideal for fans of Luke Pearson and Noelle Stevenson.-Stephanie Klose, School Library Journal © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Charles, a heavyset kid in a baseball cap, fancies himself a hard-hitting journalist; he already has his own blog. After his parents move to Echo City to renovate a decrepit apartment building, it doesn't take long for a news item to emerge: a terrifying, snaggle-toothed monster looms over his bed on his first night. The next day, Charles's new friend Kevin passes him a business card for one Margo Maloo, Monster Mediator. "They say monsters are afraid of her," Kevin says. "Don't show it to any grown-ups!" In the adventures that follow, Charles plays a bumbling Watson to Margo's chilly Sherlock: "You don't know how stupid you sound right now," she snaps. The world of monsters Margo introduces Charles to produces endless surprises, as when he discovers that his building's resident monster has a better collection of Battlebeanz figurines than he does. Weing's (Set to Sea) artwork combines urban landscapes with an exhaustive interest in monster forms and the way they appear in the dim light of basements. It's a beautifully conceived and executed trio of stories, and readers will hope that more installments are on the way. Ages 8-12. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

Charles, a young aspiring journalist, does not want to move to Echo City or live in the dilapidated former hotel his father is renovating, especially when he discovers that the city teems with monsters. Fortunately, he meets a monster mediator, Margo Maloo. This strong graphic novel has humorous creeps, a clever plot, engaging dialogue, appealing and diverse characters, and fabulous city scenery. (c) Copyright 2017. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Booklist Review

Charles is grouchy about moving to Echo City to live in the dilapidated apartment building his dad is renovating, and he's even more outraged when he discovers a real-life monster living in his closet. His new neighbor Kevin is in the know, however, and hands him a mysterious business card for monster mediator Margo Maloo, and when Charles avails himself of her services, he's introduced to an entire monster community dwelling right under his nose. As an aspiring journalist, Charles thinks he has the scoop of the century, but Margo, who's mysteriously close to the monster community, insists on keeping their investigations off the record. Weing's affable, stocky figures traipse around the enormous city, the scope of which is heightened by cantilevered points of view and wide-format panels, while his monsters strike that sweet spot between cartoonishly comical and creepy. With a saturated color palette, noirish dialogue, and a thought-provoking message about gentrification, this first in a series (originally published as a webcomic) is packed with warm laughs and smart, spooky mystery.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2016 Booklist