Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for A perfect blood
A perfect blood

1st ed.
Publication Information:
New York : Harper Voyager, ©2012.
Physical Description:
438 pages ; 24 cm.
Series title(s):
Sequel to: Pale demon.-When she discovers that a would-be creator is determined to make his (or her) own demons and needs her blood, former witch-turned-day-walking-demon Rachel Morgan, a bounty hunter, faces her toughest adversary yet -- humanity.
When she discovers that a would-be creator is determined to make his (or her) own demons and needs her blood, former witch-turned-day-walking-demon Rachel Morgan, a bounty hunter, faces her toughest adversary yet --humanity.


Call Number
Harrison Hollows v.10
FANTASY Harrison, K.

On Order



"I wouldn't miss a Kim Harrison book for anything."
--Charlaine Harris

There's nothing more darkly satisfying than time spent in the Hollows--New York Times bestseller Kim Harrison's alternate urban fantasy Cincinnati where vampires, pixies, and werewolves roam free. Harrison takes us back in A Perfect Blood, as former bounty hunter witch-turned-reluctant daywalking demon Rachel Morgan investigates a series of ritual murders, only to discover to her horror that whomever--or whatever--is responsible is actually seeking her blood. Rachel's sexy, supernatural adventures have consistently landed atop bestseller lists from coast-to-coast, and A Perfect Blood is no exception--another supremely satisfying excursion to a deliciously eerie fantasy realm that's certain to delight Kim Harrison's voracious army of fans...not to mention Laurell K. Hamilton, Charlaine Harris, Jim Butcher, Kelley Armstrong, Patricia Briggs, and Stephanie Meyers aficionados, and any reader who craves a walk on the wild, dark side.

Author Notes

Dawn Cook, who also writes under the pen name Kim Harrison, was born in Michigan. She is a member of both the Romance Writers of America and The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Under the name of Dawn Cook, her books include The Decoy Princess, Princess At Sea, and the Truth series. Under the name of Kim Harrison, she writes the Rachel Morgan or Hollows series. In 2014 her titles, The Undead Pool and The Witch with No Name made The New York Times Best Seller List.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 4

Publisher's Weekly Review

At book 10 of her Hollows series, Harrison has, by now, fleshed out an exceedingly satisfying and well-rendered world that is much more than the usual paranormal backdrop, giving us fascinating side glimpses into the problems of the recently deceased at the DMV or the semiotics of pixie apparel. While the story centers on Rachel Morgan, former witch and current demon, and her pursuit of the Humans Against Paranormals Association, a domestic terrorist organization, it plays out against a larger structure of warring power groups of demons, elves, vampires, and werewolves. First-time readers will find this volume a good introduction to Harrison's landmark urban fantasy series, though they would be best served by beginning at the beginning; fans will love it from start to finish. Agent: Richard Curtis, Richard Curtis Associates. (Mar.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Kirkus Review

In book 10 of a popular urban fantasy detective series, Cincinnati witch-turned-demon Rachel Morgan confronts a powerful hate group. Nothing ever comes easy for Rachel. She's accepted that she's now a demon, but unfortunately, demons are universally mistrusted and have no legal statusin fact, she's listed as deadwhich makes it complicated for her to renew her Ohio driver's license. She does want the other demons to think she's dead, but the charmed silver bracelet that severs her connection to the demon collective also blocks most of her magic. As a result, when strangely mutated and mutilated witch corpses begin turning up, she's both blamed for demonic activity by law enforcement and (apparently) nearly defenseless when the true perpetrators target Rachel (never count her out, though). It's all part of a convoluted plot by HAPA (Humans Against Paranormals Association) to synthesize demon blood and use it to exterminate all Inderlanders (vampires, Weres, witches, etc.). As per usual, Rachel's struggle with self-acceptance, her good heart, her rejection of everyone's advice, her impulsiveness and recklessness and her all-around gift for causing chaos get her into trouble. Those qualities up the action quotient, but it would be nice to see Rachel's emotional growth progress a little more quickly. Every novel ends on a high note of confidence, but by the time the next one opens, Rachel has already plunged back into neurosis and worry, restarting the cycle. On the positive side, Rachel's relationship with elf businessman/drug lord Trent appears to be deepening; but again, it's not as far advanced as some might wish. Still fun, but could reach farther.]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Booklist Review

With the end of this popular series coming soon (Harrison says only two or three more books), fans will be savoring the remaining episodes all the more, and those who have delayed entry will begin jumping on board. Heroine Rachel Morgan, who grew up thinking she was a witch, has been legally declared a demon and has lost most of her civil rights, which is how the IS (Inderland Security) manages to rope her into working with them (in return for a valid driver's license). As soon as Rachel visits her first crime scene, she realizes that the people responsible are likely trying to trap her. For the first time, Rachel finds herself hunting humans who belong to HAPA (Humans Against Paranormals Association), a hate group thought to have died out after the Turn. Rachel risks her life to catch the killers before they kill and torture more witches, even when it means risking capture herself. Longtime series fans will be pleased to see Ivy finally sharing blood and sex with someone other than reluctant Rachel, who is beginning to develop a mature and balanced relationship with long-term frenemy Trent the Elf. Readers new to the series should start with the first book, Dead Witch Walking. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: The Rachel Morgan series has found a spot on most best-seller lists, and subsequent entries promise more of the same, aided now by a 10-city author tour and all variety of digital marketing (including an incentive-driven refer-a-friend campaign ).--Moyer, Jessica Copyright 2010 Booklist

Library Journal Review

In Harrison's tenth series installment (after Pale Demon), Rachel Morgan, a witch-turned-demon, is drawn to the crime scene of a tortured and mutilated university student strung up in a park gazebo. Working with both supernatural-run and human-run police agencies, Rachel investigates more ritualistic murders thought to be carried out by a hate group, Humans Against Paranormals Association (HAPA). HAPA is attempting to create its own demons but needs Rachel's unique blood to be successful. While simultaneously trying to fight HAPA and evade being kidnapped by the group, Rachel also struggles with her identity as a demon. VERDICT Harrison's colorful cast of supporting characters (a foul-mouthed pixy, a frustrated werewolf bodyguard, a cat-riding fairy, and a posh vampire) keeps the story moving among the fast-paced action scenes. Longtime fans will obviously be standing in line for this one. However, readers with any interest in urban fantasy can easily jump into the story via Harrison's explanations of past events. [Ten-city tour; see Prepub Alert, 9/19/11.]-Brooke Bolton, North Manchester P.L., IN (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.