Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Fever dream
Format:
Title:
Fever dream
ISBN:
9780446554961

9780446566858

9781455584390

9780446554954

9781409113522

9781409113539
Edition:
1st ed.
Publication Information:
New York : Grand Central Pub., ©2010.
Physical Description:
405 pages ; 24 cm.
Series title(s):
Number in series:
10.
Summary:
With Lieutenant Vincent D'Agosta's assistance, Pendergast embarks on a quest to uncover the mystery of his wife's murder. As he probes more deeply into the riddle--the answer to which is revealed in a night of shocking violence, deep in the Louisiana bayou--he finds himself faced with an even greater question: who was the woman he married?
Added Author:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
PRESTON
Searching...
Searching...
FIC PRESTON Pendergast #10
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION - PRESTON
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION - PRESTON
Searching...
Searching...
PRESTON, D. PENDERGAST BOOK 10
Searching...
Searching...
Preston
Searching...
Searching...
FIC PRESTON 2010
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION PRESTON
Searching...
Searching...
Preston, D.
Searching...
Searching...
Preston, D.
Searching...
Searching...
FIC PRESTON
Searching...
Searching...
PRESTON & Child
Searching...
Searching...
FIC PRESTON
Searching...
Searching...
Preston
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary


Yesterday, Special Agent Pendergast still mourned the loss of his beloved wife, Helen, who died in a tragic accident in Africa twelve years ago.

Today, he discovers she was murdered.

Tomorrow, he will learn her most guarded secrets, leaving him to wonder: Who was the woman I married? Why was she murdered? And, above all . . . Who murdered her?

FEVER DREAM

Revenge is not sweet: It is essential.


Author Notes

Lincoln Child was born in Westport, Connecticut in 1957. He received a degree in English from Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota. After graduation, he obtained a position as an editorial assistant at St. Martin's Press and eventually became a full editor in 1984. He left St. Martin's Press in 1987 for a job at MetLife and began writing.

Child has co-written numerous books with Douglas Preston including Relic, White Fire, Cold Vengeance, Riptide, Thunderhead, The Wheel of Darkness, Cemetery Dance, Gideon's Corpse, Blue Labyrinth, and Two Graves. In 2003, he published his first solo novel entitled Utopia. His other solo works include Death Match, Deep Storm, Terminal Freeze, The Third Gate, and The Forgotten Room.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 4

Publisher's Weekly Review

Preston and Child up the emotional ante considerably in their 10th thriller featuring brilliant and eccentric FBI agent Aloysius Pendergast (after Cemetery Dance), one of the best in the series. For 12 years, Pendergast has believed that the death of his wife, Helen, in the jaws of a ferocious red-maned lion in Zambia was just a tragedy, but his chance examination of the gun she carried on the fateful day reveals that someone loaded it with blanks. Pendergast drags his longtime NYPD ally, Lt. Vincent D'Agosta, into a leave of absence that includes travel to Africa as well as the American South. The motive for Helen's murder appears to be linked to her fascination with John James Audubon and her quest for a mysterious lost Audubon painting. Once again, the bestselling authors show they have few peers at creating taut scenes of suspense. Their restraint in the book's early sections make the payoffs all the more compelling. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Kirkus Review

Another moody Agent Pendergast novel from powerhouse duo Preston and Child (The Book of the Dead, 2006, etc.). When quirky but brilliant FBI Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast's wife Helen was killed in Africa many years ago by a lion, no one had any reason to suspect foul play. Although she was an excellent shot, she'd only had time to get one shot off before the beast was upon her, and even the best marksperson misses occasionally. Twelve years later, while examining the gun she'd used on the day she died, Pendergast discovers that someone had loaded her rifle with a blank. Her death hadn't been an accident after all. He vows to do everything in his power to avenge his wife's death, and, being Pendergast, his power is considerable. He again enlists the help of his usual Watson, the NYPD's Lt. Vincent D'Agosta, and the two set out for Africa, where Pendergast's suspicions are quickly confirmed. Soon, the clues lead them back to New Orleans, Pendergast's hometown, and they learn that Helen had secretly been pursuing a missing transitional painting by John James Audubon. But why? And why spend so much time and energy to keep the search a secret, even from her husband? As the duo close in on the answer, they discover that someone is willing to go to great lengths to keep them from the truth. Preston and Child are at their best when immersing the reader in the dank, dark atmosphere of the bayous and swamps of rural Louisiana, where much of the novel is set. Pendergast, beloved by fans and described by the authors in a note to readers as "the world's most enigmatic FBI agent," can be a bit much, occasionally coming across as a set of eccentricities rather than a living, breathing character. Still, readers of previous Pendergast novels will welcome this installment starring the exceedingly peculiar FBI Special Agent. Stylish, dark and tense.]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

*Starred Review* If a movie were made from the latest Special Agent Pendergast novel, the tagline might read: This time, it's personal. Twelve years ago, in Africa, Pendergast's wife was mauled to death by a lion after she shot at it and missed. Now, in the present day, Pendergast makes the startling discovery that his wife's gun was loaded with blanks. He enlists the aid of his old friend, New York City cop Vincent D'Agosta, to help him track down the people responsible for his wife's death and mete out some very personal justice. The Pendergast novels, beginning with 1995's Relic, are uniformly excellent, although they have grown steadily darker and more elegantly written. Singly, both authors turn out solid stand-alone thrillers, but together they reach an entirely different level, achieving a stylistic grace and thematic resonance neither has so far matched alone. This may be the best of the Pendergast novels, if for no other reason than we are permitted to see the man beneath the cold, steely exterior. For fans of the earlier novels, a definite must-read.--Pitt, David Copyright 2010 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Fans of Preston and Child's (www.-prestonchild.com) iconic Aloysius Pendergast will delight in this tenth title to feature the special agent, following Cemetery Dance (2009). For the first time, the authors turn from the supernatural aspects of such earlier Pendergast novels as Reliquary (1998) and Still Life with Crows (2003) to involve Pendergast and his partner, NYPD lieutenant Vincent D'Agosto, in a classic mystery centering on the suspicious death of Pendergast's wife, Helen, on the plains of Africa. Actor/narrator Rene Auberjonois's honeyed tones add greatly to the overall enjoyment of the book; his interpretation of the mysterious FBI agent's voice and manner is spot on. Highly recommended for all. [The Grand Central hc was a New York Times best seller; see Prepub Exploded, BookSmack!, 12/3/09.-Ed.]-Joseph L. Carlson, Vandenberg Air Force Base Lib., Lompoc, CA Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.