Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Grace
Format:
Title:
Grace
ISBN:
9781416550037

9781416594390

9781602853102
Edition:
1st Simon & Schuster hardcover ed.
Publication Information:
New York : Simon & Schuster, 2008.
Physical Description:
xii, 316 pages ; 19 cm
Summary:
An old man reminisces about his first love, a young runaway who taught him more about life than anyone had before or since.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
EVANS
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION - EVANS
Searching...
Searching...
I EVANS
Searching...
Searching...
Evans
Searching...
Searching...
FIC EVANS 2008
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION EVANS
Searching...
Searching...
Evans, R.
Searching...
Searching...
Evans, R.
Searching...
Searching...
FIC EVANS
Searching...
Searching...
EVANS Richard Paul
Searching...
Searching...
R EVANS
Searching...
Searching...
Evans
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, The Gift , and The Christmas List . The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.

She was my first kiss. My first love. She was a little match girl who could see the future in the flame of a candle. She was a runaway who taught me more about life than anyone has before or since. And when she was gone my innocence left with her.

As I begin to write, a part of me feels as if I am awakening something best left dead and buried, or at least buried. We can bury the past, but it never really dies. The experience of that winter has grown on my soul like ivy climbing the outside of a home, growing until it begins to tear and tug at the brick and mortar.

I pray I can still get the story right. My memory, like my eyesight, has waned with age. Still, there are things that become clearer to me as I grow older. This much I know: too many things were kept secret in those days. Things that never should have been hidden. And things that should have.


Author Notes

Richard Paul Evans was born in Salt Lake City, Utah on October 11, 1962. He received a B.A. degree from the University of Utah in 1984. In 1992 while he was an advertising executive, he wrote a story about parental love and the meaning of Christmas for his daughters. The story, The Christmas Box, was copied and passed around to relatives and friends, and was published. It was adapted as an Emmy-winning television movie in 1995 starring Richard Thomas and Maureen O'Hara.

His other fiction works include The Locket, A Perfect Day, Promise Me, Lost December, A Winter Dream, A Step of Faith, and The Mistletoe Promise. His series include the Christmas Box series, The Walk series, and the Michael Vey series. He also writes non-fiction works including The Christmas Box Miracle: My Spiritual Journey of Destiny, Healing, and Hope; The Five Lessons a Millionaire Taught Me about Life and Wealth; The Five Lessons a Millionaire Taught Me for Women; and The Four Doors: A Guide to Joy, Freedom and a Meaningful Life. He has won several awards for his books including Romantic Times best women's novel for The Sunflower.

He is also a public speaker, traveling the country to bring awareness of the problem of neglected and abused children. In 1997, he used his Christmas Box Foundation to begin a shelter for abused and neglected children called the Christmas Box House.

(Bowker Author Biography) Richard Paul Evans is a bestselling author. He lives with his family in Salt Lake City, Utah.

(Publisher Provided)


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

A ninth grader's world is forever changed in Evan's holiday present to his fans. Eric is still adjusting to his family's move from California to Utah when he discovers runaway classmate Grace dumpster diving behind the burger joint where he works. A concerned Eric and his younger brother, Joel, hide Grace in their backyard clubhouse. Meanwhile, the Cuban Missile Crisis looms, and the boys' father is recovering from Guillain-Barre and their mother is overworked, so there are plenty of distractions to keep the grown-ups ignorant of the goings-on. Evans portrays Grace's heartbreaking predicament with sensitivity and also touches on how the political situation affected the era's youth ("The possibility of a nuclear holocaust was just something we always carried around in the back of our minds, like an overdue library book"). Evans knows how to pull on the heartstrings, and the conclusion to this one will have readers reaching for a hankie. (Oct.) Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.


Library Journal Review

Would it be Christmas without a tale from Evans (The Gift; The Christmas Box)? In the 1960s, Eric discovers his schoolmate Grace hiding in a dumpster after running away from her abusive stepfather. He offers her shelter in an old backyard clubhouse and becomes her best friend, not realizing the depths of her painful family life until it's too late. Years later, Eric, now a doctor devoted to helping abused children, reflects on this tragic period of his life. Touching and sad, this is sure to match Evans's previous successes on the best sellers list. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 6/15/08.] (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.