Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for A Simple Faith : a Lancaster Crossroads Novel
Format:
Title:
A Simple Faith : a Lancaster Crossroads Novel
ISBN:
9780345543264
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York : Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2013]
Physical Description:
370 pages ; 21 cm.
Series title(s):
Summary:
"For fans of Beverly Lewis and Cindy Woodsmall, Rosalind Lauer's uplifting Lancaster Crossroads novel A Simple Faith brings together disparate lives in a warm Amish setting. BLESSINGS BORN OF TRAGEDY A LOVE TO HEAL ALL FEARS Rushing to the scene of a tragic highway collision, nursing student Haley Donovan draws on her training to care for the passengers in the crumpled van. The experience wins her a place in Lancaster County's tight-knit Amish society, and draws her to kindhearted psychologist Dylan Monroe. Working side by side with Dylan, who is bringing counseling services to the small town of Halfway, Haley feels an undeniable attraction between them, yet she senses that Dylan is holding back, scarred by the wounds of his past. Elsie Lapp, the manager of Halfway's country store, is a voice of cheer and goodwill for her customers. But Elsie's serene world spins out of control with the terrible crash, and the young woman finds herself grappling for the simple faith that has always sustained her. Her burden is eased by Ruben Zook, a neighbor known for his snide jokes. In the aftermath of the accident, Ruben reveals a tender heart that could easily sweep her away. However, Elsie carries secrets that keep her from surrendering her heart. Exploring the ways that faith, hope, and charity bring everyone together, A Simple Faith resonates with the sweetness, purity, and power of love"-- Provided by publisher.

"When a tragic accident occurs in Halfway, the entire community of Amish folk, Englishers, and tourists draw together to face the aftermath. Haley Donovan, an Englisher Halfway resident who comes upon the crash, finds herself drawn into the Amish community through the friendships born in crisis, and to social worker Dylan Monroe. Elsie Lapp suffers greatly from the loss of her father in the accident, but her burden is eased by another survivor of the collision, notorious joker Ruben Zook. Before she knows it, Elsie is falling in love with Ruben but fears that she isn't good enough for the kind Amish man. As the town of Halfway struggles to heal, both of these couples discover the restorative power of love"-- Provided by publisher.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
FIC LAUER 2013
Searching...
Searching...
ROMANCE Lauer, R.
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"BLESSINGS BORN OF TRAGEDY LOVE TO HEAL ALL FEARS ushing to the scene of a tragic highway collision, nursing student Haley Donovan draws on her training to care for the passengers in the crumpled van. The experience wins her a place in Lancaster County's tight-knit Amish society, and draws her to kindhearted psychologist Dylan Monroe. Working side by side with Dylan, who is bringing counseling services to the small town of Halfway, Haley feels an undeniable attraction between them, yet she senses that Dylan is holding back, scarred by the wounds of his past. lsie Lapp, the manager of Halfway's country store, is a voice of cheer and goodwill for her customers. But Elsie's serene world spins out of control with the terrible crash, and the young woman finds herself grappling for the simple faith that has always sustained her. Her burden is eased by Ruben Zook, a neighbor known for his snide jokes. In the aftermath of the accident, Ruben reveals a tender heart that could easily sweep her away. However, Elsie carries secrets that keep her from surrendering her heart. xploring the ways that faith, hope, and charity bring everyone together, A Simple Faith resonates with


Author Notes

" Rosalind Lauer is the author of A Simple Winter, A Simple Spring, A Simple Autumn, and the novella A Simple Crossroads . She grew up in a large family in Maryland and began visiting Lancaster County's Amish community as a child. Lauer attended Wagner College in New York City and worked as an editor for Simon & Schuster and Harlequin Books. She now lives with her family in Oregon, where she writes in the shade of some towering two-hundred-year-old Douglas fir trees."


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

The lives of four people converge in the wake of a horrific accident in the small Pennsylvania town of Halfway: Haley, a nursing student unsure of her future career; her coworker Dylan, the social worker who is attracted to her; Elsie, who runs her family country store but longs for modernizations that would ease her work; and Ruben Zook, a known community prankster. As the four connect, faith, hope, and love begin to bloom. However, will their fragile bonds of friendship be able to overcome self-doubt, religious obligations in the small Amish community, and secrets of the heart? In the face of tragedy, the protagonists' trust in God may be the strongest connection. VERDICT Lauer's new Amish series launch is sure to be a hit with fans of her "Seasons of Lancaster County" series (A Simple Spring; A Simple Winter; A Simple Autumn) as several of the main characters in those books reappear in the new trilogy, albeit in minor roles. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.