Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation
Format:
Title:
Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation
ISBN:
9781442304789
Edition:
Unabridged.
Publication Information:
New York : Simon & Schuster Audio, 2010.
Physical Description:
8 audio discs (9 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Series title(s):
Number in series:
#1.
General Note:
Compact discs.

Duration: 9:30:00.
Summary:
Suffering from amnesia, Jack Blank is toiling away at the bleak St. Barnaby's Home for Hopeless, Abandoned, Forgotten, and Lost. However, when a robot from one of his comic books comes to life and nearly blows him up, everything changes.
Reading Level:
Ages 8 & up.
Added Author:
Added Corporate Author:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
CD J FIC MYKLUSCH
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Don't miss the first installment in a knockout new fantasy adventure series that no one will be able to get enough of

All Jack Blank knows is his bleak, dreary life at St. Barnaby's Home for the Hopeless, Abandoned, Forgotten, and Lost, an orphanage that sinks further into the swampland of New Jersey with each passing year. His aptitude tests predict that he will spend a long, unhappy career as a toilet brush cleaner. His only chance at escape comes through the comic books donated years ago to the orphanage that he secretly reads in the dark corners of the library.

Everything changes one icy gray morning when Jack receives two visitors that alter his life forever. The first is a deadly robot straight out of one of his comic books that tries its best to blow him up. The second is an emissary from a secret country called The Imagine Nation, an astonishing place where all the fantastic and unbelievable things in our world originate--including Jack.

Jack soon discovers that he has an amazing ability--one that could make him the savior of the Imagine Nation and the world beyond, or the biggest threat they've ever faced.


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 5-8-Jack Blank, a 12-year-old orphan living at St. Barnabas House for the Hopeless, Abandoned, Forgotten, and Lost, doesn't know who he is or where he comes from. Like so many other young, peculiarly talented, and mistreated young people (Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, etc.), he is about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime. When an evil zombie robot shows up at the dismal, dreary institute he calls home, Jack uses his uncanny ability to control machines to dispatch the intruder. Thus alerted to his presence, an escort arrives shortly to ferry Jack to the Imagine Nation, a land filled with superheroes and supervillains, many of them familiar to him from comic books, where Jack will face his greatest challenge yet. Narrator Norbert Leo Butz imbues Matt Myklusch's text (Aladdin, 2010) with the proper suspense and animation. Fans of Harry Potter and Alex Rider will embrace Jack Blank.-Sara Saxton, Tuzzy Consortium Library, Barrow, AK (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Myklusch's debut is an ambitious, no-holds-barred adventure that makes effective use of some familiar tropes. Orphan Jack Blank's dismal life in a New Jersey orphanage comes to an explosive end after a robot from a favorite comic book proves all too real and attempts to destroy him. Narrowly surviving the battle, 12-year-old Jack is rescued by the fast-talking Jazen Knight and taken to his true home-the hidden island of the Imagine Nation, where anything is possible, but which is also fast becoming a surveillance state. When Revile, the deadliest R stov, attacks the city and sheds light on Jack's origins, Jack must master his new powers to forge his own destiny. There's some clunky exposition and common themes aplenty (lonely orphan discovers superhuman powers, is both honored and ostracized, and is inextricably linked to a powerful enemy). But the exuberance and anything-goes whimsy of this story-enhanced by a light, comic book sensibility along with questions it raises about fate, corporate power, and heroism-make this a concept with potential. Ages 8-12. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Horn Book Review

Orphan Jack has few prospects--until being carried off on a voyage where he must figure out who he is while protecting himself from an alien horde. The story is essentially a comic book adventure in novel form, with superheroes and advanced technology to be found in spades. Though the tale's action quickens its pace, the book is still too long. (c) Copyright 2011. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

(Fantasy. 11-13)]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Twelve-year-old Jack Blank's life is just that blank. An orphan at St. Barnaby's Home for the Hopeless, Abandoned, Forgotten, and Lost, Jack has no memory of his past or his real name. After destroying a zombie robot in a freak accident, Jack is rescued from the orphanage by an android emissary from the Imagine Nation, Jack's native homeland, where superheroes, aliens, and ninjas all live together. Unfortunately, Jack's homecoming is short-lived, as he is discovered to be infected with a deadly robot virus. Yet Jack isn't sick, and he soon learns that his inexplicable immunity to the virus is only a part of his superpowers. While Jack learns to control his powers, he also learns that the zombie robots that invaded Imagine Nation years ago never left the island and are looking for him. Myklusch's debut novel a fun mix of adventure, fantasy, and science fiction is an imaginative read and will easily attract young male readers longing to be from another world.--Garnick, Kimberly Copyright 2010 Booklist