Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Babymouse
Format:
Title:
Babymouse
ISBN:
9780375832291

9780375932298

9781415666050

9780007224470

9780756983345

9780007224487

9780375932304

9780375832307

9780375832314

9780375932311

9781417730605

9780007224494

9781448760879

9781417731923

9780007224500

9780375832321

9780375932328

9781448760886

9780375837982

9780375937989

9780375537981

9780756983352

9781448760893

9781417780709

9781417780525

9781435272699

9780375939884

9780375839887

9781428723993

9781417789016

9780375839894

9780375939891

9781417797325

9780375839900

9780375939907

9780375937897

9780375843877

9781439596692

9780375843884

9780375937910

9780375957123

9780375857126

9780375857133

9780375957130

9780375965739

9780375865732

9780375965746

9780375865749

9780375967795

9780375867798

9780375967801

9780375867804

9780375970962

9780307931603

9780375970979

9780375970986

9780307931610

9780307931627

9780307931634

9780375970993

9781448760909

9781448760916

9781442064850

9781451741131

9780606355674

9781436450072

9780606070256
Edition:
1st ed.
Publication Information:
New York : Random House, 2005-
Physical Description:
volumes <1-> : chiefly illustrations ; 19 cm
Contents:
V.1: Queen of the world -- v.2: Our hero -- v.3: Beach babe -- v.4: Rock star -- v.5: Heartbreaker -- v.6: Camp babymouse -- v.7: Skater girl -- v.8: Puppy love -- v.9: Monster mash -- v.10: The musical -- v.11: Dragonslayer -- v.12: Burns rubber -- v.13: Cupcake tycoon -- v.14: Mad scientist -- v.15: A very babymouse christmas -- c.16: Babymouse for President -- v.17: Extreme Babymouse -- v.18: Happy birthday, Babymouse -- v.19: Bad babysitter.
Summary:
An imaginative mouse learns life lessons while living her life.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 2.2 0.5 104176.

Reading Counts RC 3-5 3.5 3 Quiz: 53739.

Accelerated Reader LG 2.2 0.5 104176.
Added Author:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2006 V.5
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2007 V.6
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2006 V.4
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2010 v.12
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2011 V.15
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2007 V.7
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2009 V.10
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2011 V.14
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2009 V.11
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2006 V.3
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2012 V.16
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2008 V.9
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2007 V.8
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2016 v.20
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2014 v.18
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2013 v.17
Searching...
Searching...
J GN HOLM 2015 v.19
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

With multiple Children's Choice Awards and over 1.8 million books sold, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Bad Kitty, and Dork Diaries!

Meet Babymouse--Her dreams are big! Her imagination is wild! Her whiskers are ALWAYS a mess! In her mind, she's Queen of the World! In real life...she's not even Queen of the lunch table.

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling, three-time Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal--BABYMOUSE! It's the same thing every day for Babymouse. Where is the glamour? The excitement? The fame?!? Nothing ever changes, until...Babymouse hears about Felicia Furrypaws's exclusive slumber party. Will Babymouse get invited? Will her best friend, Wilson, forgive her if she misses their monster movie marathon? Find out in Babymouse #1: Queen of the World! All new BABYMOUSE BONUS: How to Draw Babymouse & Create-Your-Own-Comic!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Kirkus Reviews:
"Emergent readers will cheer 'Babymouse!'"


Author Notes

After graduating from Dickinson College, Jennifer L. Holm became a broadcast producer of television commercials and music videos for numerous companies including Nickelodeon, MTV, American Express, Hershey's and Huggies. Her first book, Our Only May Amelia, was a 2000 Newbery Honor Book. Both Penny from Heaven and Turtle in Paradise were Newbery Honor recipients in 2007 and 2011, respectively. She is also the author of numerous series including Boston Jane, Babymouse, and The Stink Files, which she writes with her husband Jonathan Hamel. Her title, The Fourteenth Goldfish made The New York Times Best Seller List in 2014.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 2-5-Give Babymouse, with her black-and-white-and-pink peppered palette, to anyone who thinks that comics are enjoyed primarily by boys. A plucky, resilient mouse (read middle-grade girl), Babymouse negotiates issues of friendship, popularity, and sense of self. The format and indeterminate age of our heroine makes for broad appeal with a wide range of readers. (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Jennifer Holm (Our Only May Amelia) and her brother Matthew Holm, a graphic designer, make an incursion on Captain Underpants territory with these comic books about a girl mouse. Both tales share eye-grabbing black-and-pink graphics, and a perceptible Spiegelman influence simmers in the energetic ink illustrations of the dot-eyed heroine. Queen of the World! introduces Babymouse and her nemesis, a popular cat named Felicia Furrypaws. Babymouse desperately wants an invitation to Felicia's slumber party (which she feels could confer "queen" status), although her best friend Wilson the Weasel expects her to watch monster movies with him that night. Fantasy sequences testify to Babymouse's reading habit and active imagination: in one reverie, she's Babymouserella, transformed into a princess by "fairy godweasel" Wilson, but undone by Felicia on the way to the ball ("In `Cinderella,' the mouse pulls the carriage. Duh!"). A sequel, Our Hero, centers on a gym class where unathletic Babymouse faces dodgeball whiz Felicia. Before the competition, Babymouse daydreams of boot camp, stomps on her antagonist as "Babymousezilla" and indulges in a Peter Pan sequence where a combined Felicia-Hook makes her walk the plank into the jaws of a crocodile (who doubles as the gym teacher). The Holms make humorous allusions to novels and movies, and interject sympathetic remarks from an offstage narrator. This personable, self-conscious mouse, with her penchant for pink hearts, resembles Kevin Henkes's Lilly, with some extra years of grade-school experience. Ages 7-10. (Dec.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Horn Book Review

(Primary) The heroine of these two graphic novels for new readers is a sassy, smart mouse. Living in a Walter Mitty-like dream world, Babymouse faces the challenges of a sometimes-cruel world that await her each morning when she reluctantly emerges from under her heart-covered duvet. Each challenge brings its own accompanying daydream, rich in pink hues and dramatic overtones. When Babymouse oversleeps and misses the school bus, she has to walk to school; trudging along, she imagines herself braving the Oregon Trail, wishing to ride in the back of the wagon with the ""cool pioneer kids."" Her locker eats her homework; her teacher berates her; but the worst is to come when our heroine discovers the terrors of dodgeball (in Our Hero) and the pitfalls of trying to run with the popular crowd (in Queen of the World!). New readers will appreciate the familiar situations, humorous asides, and easy-to-digest plots. The graphic format is easy to follow, especially since Babymouse's rich inner life is painted pink while the real world is depicted in a less flashy black-and-white. Babymouse is here to stay, and fans of Fashion Kitty and Captain Underpants will now add her to their collection of well-thumbed volumes to read over and over again. [Review includes these titles: Babymouse: Our Hero! and Babymouse: Queen of the World] (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.


Kirkus Review

In a graphic novelette illustrated in minimal, two-color style, the Holms introduce a small, klutzy mouse with a very big imagination. Babymouse compensates for the lack of glamour, excitement and adventure in her everyday life by mentally casting herself as Queen, as a space explorer, as star of "Babymouse vs. the Squid," and more at the drop of a hat--all while fretting that she hasn't been invited to nemesis Felicia Furrypaws' slumber party. But, finally trading her book report for an invitation, she discovers that the party's a mean and gossipy bore--so it's off to steady friend Wilson the Weasel's for cupcakes and a horror movie. Young readers will happily fall in line to follow Babymouse through both ordinary pratfalls ("Typical!" is her watchword) and extraordinary flights of fancy--both of which continue in Babymouse, Our Hero ($5.95, ISBN 0-375-83230-0; PLB $12.99, ISBN 0-375-93230-5). (Graphic fiction. 7-9) Copyright ©Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Gr. 4-6. In this energetic comic by a brother-sister team (Jennifer's Our Only May Amelia was a Newbery Honor Book), Babymouse, a wise-cracking rodent stand-in for your average, adventure-seeking nine-year-old, strives to capture popular Felicia's goodwill, finally achieving her end at the expense of Wilson Weasel, truest of friends. But, wouldn't you know it, Felicia's world has little to offer a smart, fun-loving mouse, after all. The Holms spruce up some well-trod ground with breathless pacing and clever flights of Babymouse's imagination, and their manic, pink-toned illustrations of Babymouse and her cohorts vigorously reflect the internal life of any million-ideas-a-minute middle-school student. --Jesse Karp Copyright 2005 Booklist