Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Never tell : a novel
Format:
Title:
Never tell : a novel
ISBN:
9781984882813
Edition:
First large print edition.
Publication:
[New York, New York] : Random House Large Print, [2019]
Physical Description:
523 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
Number in series:
bk. 10.
Summary:
"A man is dead, shot three times in his home office. But his computer has been shot twelve times, and when the cops arrive, his pregnant wife is holding the gun. D.D. Warren arrives on the scene and recognizes the woman--Evie Carter--from a case many years back. Evie's father was killed in a shooting that was ruled an accident. But for D.D., two coincidental murders is too many. Flora Dane sees the murder of Conrad Carter on the TV news and immediately knows his face. She remembers a night when she was still a victim--a hostage--and her captor knew this man. Overcome with guilt that she never tracked him down, Flora is now determined to learn the truth of Conrad's murder. But D.D. and Flora are about to discover that in this case the truth is a devilishly elusive thing. As layer by layer they peel away the half-truths and outright lies, they wonder: How many secrets can one family have?"--Goodreads.com.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Gardner, L.
Searching...
Searching...
LP MYS GARDNER
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

#1 New York Times bestseller Lisa Gardner returns with an unpredictable thriller that puts fan favorites D.D. Warren and Flora Dane on a shocking new case that begins with a vicious murder and gets darker from there.

A man is dead, shot three times in his home office. But his computer has been shot twelve times, and when the cops arrive, his pregnant wife is holding the gun.

D.D. Warren arrives on the scene and recognizes the woman--Evie Carter--from a case many years back. Evie's father was killed in a shooting that was ruled an accident. But for D.D., two coincidental murders is too many.

Flora Dane sees the murder of Conrad Carter on the TV news and immediately knows his face. She remembers a night when she was still a victim--a hostage--and her captor knew this man. Overcome with guilt that she never tracked him down, Flora is now determined to learn the truth of Conrad's murder.

But D.D. and Flora are about to discover that in this case the truth is a devilishly elusive thing. As layer by layer they peel away the half-truths and outright lies, they wonder: How many secrets can one family have?


Author Notes

Lisa Gardner received a degree in international relations from the University of Pennsylvania in 1993. At the age of 20, she sold her first novel, Walking after Midnight, under the pseudonym Alicia Scott. After graduating from college, she became a management consultant and continued to write romance novels in her spare time. She eventually became a full-time author. She wrote 13 romance novels before turning to thrillers. Under the pseudonym Alicia Scott, her romance novels include The Quiet One, Brandon's Bride, and Marry Me...Again. Under Lisa Gardner, her thrillers include The Other Daughter, I'd Kill for That, Touch and Go, and Crash and Burn. She also writes the FBI Profiler series and the Detective D.D. Warren series.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Publisher's Weekly Review

In Thriller Award winner Gardner's nailbiting ninth novel featuring Boston PD Sgt. Det. D.D. Warren (after 2017's Look For Me), police break into the home of pregnant math teacher Evelyn Carter, who's standing over her husband Conrad's dead body with a freshly fired gun in her hand. Though Evie claims her innocence, D.D. pegs her as the killer. She remembers investigating Evie 16 years earlier for the accidental shooting and murder of her own father, Earl Hopkins, and concludes that two pointblankrange shootings aren't coincidental. Once the news of Conrad's murder goes public, kidnapping survivorturnedvigilante and D.D.'s unofficial informant, Flora Dane, asserts that she recognizes Conrad as a man who was acquainted with her kidnapper, Jacob Ness. Flora revisits her dark, disturbing past with the help of a true crime blogger in an effort to connect the two men. As readers unravel secrets that tie these two murders together, Gardner questions how well anyone can truly know spouses and families. The conclusion may not come as a shock, but Gardner's commendable storytelling will keep fans eagerly waiting for the next outing for D.D. and Flora. Author tour. Agent: Meg Ruley, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

Veteran Boston PD detective D. D. Warren, still on her game, returns in the tenth book (after Look for Me, 2018) in an outstanding series by New York Times best-selling Gardner. When a man is found dead with his laptop shot to pieces, the police arrive to find the victim's pregnant wife holding the gun. Flora Dane, working for D. D. as an informer, recognizes the victim, Conrad Carter, on the news and remembers a terrifying encounter she had with him during her captivity by a sadistic killer. D. D. recognizes the accused, Conrad's pregnant wife, Evie Carter, from a case years ago when Evie shot and killed her father. That shooting was ruled an accident, but D. D. finds herself reconsidering that earlier judgment. The investigation unfolds, in turn, in the separate narratives of D. D., Evie, and Flora; and the suspense builds as the truth about each of their experiences emerges. The wrap-up here is just a bit too neat, but Gardner's fans will not be disappointed by this insightful look into the impact of crime on its victims.--Jane Murphy Copyright 2018 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Det. Sgt. D.D. Warren's latest case, a woman accused of murdering her husband, takes a macabre twist when D.D. recognizes Evie Carter as the suspect in her very first case, the 16-year-old who accidentally shot and killed her father, a renowned Harvard professor. It gets even stranger when not only this case starts unraveling but it seems the murdered husband has ties to a crime involving D.D.'s confidential informant, Flora Dane, herself a survivor of a heinous crime. Book ten in the series (after Look for Me) presents an exceptional, fast-paced, and disturbing cat-and-mouse game with superscary bad guys and dark-web dealings that will keep readers guessing until an ingenious aha moment. The complicated characters, a brilliantly convoluted connect-the-dots plot, and nonstop action all create a fantastic read; longtime fans will appreciate the costar cameo from Gardner's acclaimed "FBI Profiler" series. The author's compassion for Flora will pull heartstrings, and her portrayal of D.D. in her element fighting crime with her old teammates while remaining a loving wife and mother, is genuine. VERDICT Fans of J.T. Ellison, Hank Phillippi Ryan, contemporary crime drama, police procedurals, and psychological thrillers will devour Gardner's latest. [See Prepub Alert, 8/10/18.]-Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City-Cty. Lib. Dist., St Peters, MO © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.