Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for After the king : stories in honor of J.R.R. Tolkien
After the king : stories in honor of J.R.R. Tolkien
1st ed.
Publication Information:
New York : T. Doherty Associates, 1992.
Physical Description:
ix, 438 pages ; 25 cm.
Series title(s):
Reave the Just / Stephen R. Donaldson -- Troll bridge / Terry Pratchett -- Long night's vigil at the temple / Robert Silverberg -- Dragon of Tollin / Elizabeth Ann Scarborough -- Faith / Poul and Karen Anderson -- In the season of the dressing of the wells / John Brunner -- Fellowship of the dragon / Patricia A. McKillip -- Decoy duck / Harry Turtledove -- Nine threads of gold / Andre Norton -- Conjure man / Charles de Lint -- Halfling house / Dennis L. McKiernan -- Silver or gold / Emma Bull -- Up the side of the air / Karen Haber -- Naga / Peter S. Beagle -- Revolt of the sugar plum fairies / Mike Resnick -- Winter's king / Jane Yolen -- Götterdämmerung / Barry N. Malzberg -- Down the river road / Gregory Benford -- Death and the lady / Judith Tarr.


Call Number
808.838 SF GRE
Stories After

On Order



After the King presents an outstanding collection of new fantasy stories by an extraordinary assemblage of some of the very best writers to ever continue the tradition Tolkien began with The Lord of the Rings. Stephen R. Donaldson, Peter S. Beagle, Andrew Nortong, Terry Pratchett, Robert Silverberg, Judith Tarr, Gregory Benford, Jane Yolen, Poul and Karen Anderson, Mike Resnick, Emma Bull, Elizabeth Ann Scarborough, John Brunner, Harrr Turtledove, Dennis L. McKiernan, Karen Haber, Barry M. Malzberg, and Charles de Lint contribute to a dazzling anthology that captures the spirit and originality of Tolkien's great work. The millions whose lives have been touched by J.R.R. Tolkien will find the same primal storytelling magic here, undiluted an running ever on.

Author Notes

Martin H. Greenberg was born in 1942. He received a doctorate in Political Science in 1969 and was a professor of political science at the University of Wisconsin until 1995. Over the course of his long and prolific career, Greenberg has published around 1000 anthologies and has worked with numerous best-selling authors including Isaac Asimov, Tom Clancy, Stephen King, Anne McCaffrey, Sue Grafton, Scott Turow and Dean Koontz. He has won numerous awards including the Horror Guild Award in 1994, the Deathrealm Award in 1996, the Bram Stoker Award in 1998, and the Prometheus Special Award in 2005. He also received The Ellery Queen Award for lifetime achievement in mystery editing and the Milford Award for lifetime achievement in science fiction editing.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 3

Kirkus Review

Yet another Festschrift anthology by Greenberg, who has recently edited or coedited tributes to Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, and H.P. Lovecraft, this time to honor the much-imitated author of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. The difficulty with these projects is that the writers must retain the essential flavor of their own work while evoking somehow the style or subject or tone of the revered predecessor, and here--as in the Asimov, Bradbury, and Lovecraft volumes--the quality of the stories varies tremendously. The book leads off with an exceptionally good story by Stephen R. Donaldson, ``Reave the Just,'' in which a legendary hero saves the day in a most unusual fashion. Emma Bull's ``Silver or Gold,'' Peter S. Beagle's ``The Naga,'' Judith Tarr's ``Death and the Lady,'' and Patricia A. McKillip's ``The Fellowship of the Dragon'' likewise evoke something of the spirit of Tolkien while offering wonderful, original tales in their authors' own strong voices. Meanwhile, John Brunner, Barry N. Malzberg, and Gregory Benford provide solid stories, but their connection to Tolkien is slight. Much that's unfortunately mediocre, and a few stories (such as Dennis L. McKiernan's ``The Halfling House,'' egregious at 29 pages) that would have made Tolkien himself wince--but, still, the strongest tales here are among the best short-length fantasy of the year.

Booklist Review

This festschrift in honor of the Tolkien centennial contains more than two dozen original fantasy stories that attempt to follow in the master's footsteps as to style, treatment, and material used. The result is a trifle more mixed than one might have expected from a roster of authors that is virtually a who's who of modern fantasy masters (including Emma Bull, Charles de Lint, Jane Yolen, and Judith Tarr). Some of the writers (such as Gregory Benford) have done well; others seem to lack an ear for the material or a serious purpose in dealing with it. A good, but not great, compendium, recommended for the majority of fantasy collections. ~--Roland Green

Library Journal Review

A cautionary tale by Stephen R. Donaldson (``Reeve the Just''), a whimsical ad venture in miniature by Dennis L. McKiernan (``The Halfling House''), and a tribute to the art of storytelling by Charles de Lint (``The Conjure Man'') il lustrate the variety of this collection of 19 stories written to celebrate the centennial of Tolkien's birth. Although fans of Middle Earth may be disappointed that none of these tales draw directly from Tolkien's world, discerning readers will find the unmistakable stamp of the master concealed in the heart of each story. All in all, this solid collection of fantasy belongs in most libraries. For a new edition of The Lord of the Rings and more on Tolkien, see Classic Returns, LJ 11/15/91. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Table of Contents

Jane YolenStephen R. DonaldsonTerry PratchettRobert SilverbergElizabeth Ann ScarboroughPoul Anderson and Karen AndersonJohn BrunnerPatricia A. McKillipHarry TurtledoveAndre NortonCharles de LintDennis L. McKiernanEmma BullKaren HaberPeter S. BeagleMike ResnickJane YolenBarry N. MalzbergGregory BenfordJudith Tarr
Introductionp. vii
Reave the Justp. 1
Troll Bridgep. 34
A Long Night's Vigil at the Templep. 44
The Dragon of Tollinp. 69
Faithp. 81
In the Season of the Dressing of the Wellsp. 106
The Fellowship of the Dragonp. 151
The Decoy Duckp. 172
Nine Threads of Goldp. 198
The Conjure Manp. 224
The Halfling Housep. 242
Silver or Goldp. 271
Up the Side of the Airp. 307
The Nagap. 327
Revolt of the Sugar Plum Fairiesp. 337
Winter's Kingp. 348
Gotterdammerungp. 353
Down the River Roadp. 359
Death and the Ladyp. 404
About the Authorsp. 437