Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Flowers in the attic
Flowers in the attic












Publication Information:
New York : Pocket Books, ©1979.
Physical Description:
411 pages ; 18 cm.
Series title(s):
Chris, Cathy, and the twins are to be kept hidden until their grandfather dies so that their mother will receive a sizeable inheritance, however, years pass and terrifying things occur as the four children grow up in their one room prison.

This is the extraordinary novel that has captured millions in its spell!

All across America-- and around the world millions of readers have been captivated by this strange, dark, terrifying tole of passion and peril in the lives of four innocent children, locked away from the world by a selfish mother.

"Flowers in the Attic" is the novel that began V.C. Andrews' extraordinary career, winning her an immediate, fiercely devoted worldwide following.
Reading Level:
Young Adult.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader Grades 9-12 6.1 22 Quiz 66890 English fiction.


Call Number
FIC ANDREWS Dollanger # 2
Andrews, V.

On Order



A major Lifetime movie event--the novel that captured the world's imagination and earned V.C. Andrews a fiercely devoted fanbase. Book One of the Dollanganger Family series.

At the top of the stairs there are four secrets hidden. Blond, beautiful, innocent, and struggling to stay alive...

They were a perfect family, golden and carefree--until a heartbreaking tragedy shattered their happiness. Now, for the sake of an inheritance that will ensure their future, the children must be hidden away out of sight, as if they never existed. Kept on the top floor of their grandmother's vast mansion, their loving mother assures them it will be just for a little while. But as brutal days swell into agonizing months and years, Cathy, Chris, and twins Cory and Carrie realize their survival is at the mercy of their cruel and superstitious grandmother...and this cramped and helpless world may be the only one they ever know.

Book One of the Dollanganger series, followed by Petals in the Wind , If There be Thorns , Seeds of Yesterday , and Garden of Shadows .

Author Notes

Born on June 6, 1924 in Portsmouth, Va., Virginia Cleo ("V. C.") Andrews was one of three children of William Henry and Lillian Lilnora. Andrews worked as a commercial fashion and portrait artist for a time. However, after her father's death in the late 1960s and the family's subsequent move to Manchester, Mo, she began what she described as "closet" writing. It was her publisher's decision to use the initials V. C. rather than her full name. This was done for the purpose of neutralizing her gender so as to sell to adult male audiences; the common belief was that men did not like to read books by women writers.

Andrews eventually became a full-time writer. Her first novel was a science fiction fantasy entitled The Gods of the Green Mountains, published in 1972. In 1980, she published the bestseller Flowers in the Attic, followed by Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday, and Garden of Shadows; all of which comprise the Dollanganger Series.

Andrews died of breast cancer on December 19, 1986, in Virginia Beach, Virginia. After her death, her family hired a ghost writer, Andrew Neiderman, to finish the manuscripts she had started. He would complete the next two novels, Garden of Shadows and Fallen Hearts, and they were published soon after. These two novels are considered the last to bear the "V. C. Andrews" name and to be almost completely written by Andrews herself. She left a legacy of books that have been sold worldwide and translated into 13 foreign languages.

(Bowker Author Biography) V.C. Andrews' novels have sold more than eighty-five million copies and have been translated into sixteen foreign languages. All 38 of V.C. Andrews' novels have hit the New York Times bestseller list.

(Publisher Provided)

Reviews 1

Booklist Review

If you bring up V. C. Andrews to just about any woman who came of age in the 1970s and '80s, it's very likely that she'll squeal and tell how the books were passed around at slumber parties or procured from the cool older girls at school. The first two books in Andrews' Dollanganger series Flowers in the Attic (1979)and Petals on the Wind (1980) have been reissued yet again, timed to the release of movie versions on the Lifetime network. Though the reissued versions are missing the iconic black covers with the peek-a-boo frames, the titillating stories inside remain the same and, in their way, have aged remarkably well. The Dollanganger series follows four siblings teenagers Christopher and Cathy and four-year-old twins Cory and Carrie from their wretched childhoods all the way through their lives, mainly focusing on how Chris and Cathy try to break free from their dysfunctional and haunted past. (A prequel published six years after the initial success of Flowers in the Attic goes back a generation and sheds a very different light on some of the characters and events from throughout the rest of the series.) Flowers in the Attic begins with the tragic death of the siblings' father, which forces their mother, Corrine, to go back to her family estate to seek literal and financial shelter. We find out that Grandmother Olivia banished Corrine and her husband because the pair first cousins never should have married. Olivia has also kept the existence of the children a secret from everyone, including the grandfather, who is on his deathbed. Olivia, a religious fanatic, cannot contain her disdain for her daughter and her disgust at her grandchildren, yet she begrudgingly allows them to stay at the palatial Foxworth Hall only the children have to live in the attic, hidden from the rest of the world. Corrine reassures them that it's only for a few days, until she can win over her father. A few days turns into weeks, and Corrine reluctantly tells the children that their grandfather would never accept them but no worries, he's due to die any day! As the children adapt to their strange new lives, three years pass. It comes as no surprise that Chris and Cathy fall in love after all, they are teenagers, with no one else to turn to. Olivia becomes more and more unstable and cruel, while Corrine is distant and absent for longer and longer periods of time. When the older siblings discover their mother has remarried they'd had no clue they realize they aren't ever getting out of the attic and are determined to escape. What's the appeal of this series? The characters verge on cartoonish, and the dialogue makes your average soap opera look like Shakespeare, yet the story has held readers captive for more than 30 years. It's a fairy tale a dark, twisted fairy tale of children locked away from the world, only to escape and discover that maybe the real world isn't a great place to be after all. Andrews knew how to spin a heck of an escapist yarn with all the right elements: sex, religion, family, secrets, and lies. Who could ask for more?--Vnuk, Rebecca Copyright 2010 Booklist