Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Big Nate strikes again
Format:
Title:
Big Nate strikes again
ISBN:
9780061944369

9780061944376

9780062036568

9780062009326

9780062283580

9780606365048

9780007355174

9781484450499
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York : Harper, [2010]
Physical Description:
216 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
Series title(s):
Number in series:
2.
Summary:
Sixth-grader and self-proclaimed genius Nate Wright faces his all-time enemy, Gina, when they are paired to work on a research paper together and she also gets a position on his intramural team.
Reading Level:
Ages 8-12.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader Grades 5-8 3 2 Quiz 140498 English fiction, vocabulary quiz available.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
J JGN - PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
J JGN - PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
JFIC PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
J FIC PEIRCE 2010
Searching...
Searching...
+ PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
J Peirce, L.
Searching...
Searching...
J Peirce, L.
Searching...
Searching...
J Peirce, L.
Searching...
Searching...
JF PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
JF PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
JF PEIRCE
Searching...
Searching...
Peirce
Searching...
Searching...
Peirce
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Big Nate is funny, big time" --Jeff Kinney, author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

For fans of Jeff Kinney and Raina Telgemeier, here comes the second novel in the New York Times bestselling Big Nate series.

BIG NATE will surpass all others!

But it won't be easy. He's stuck with Gina, his all-time enemy, in a class project for his least favorite teacher Mrs. Godfrey, aka Godzilla. To make matters worse, Gina ALSO ends up on his fleeceball team, right when Nate is set to win his first fleeceball championship ever. This is his moment for glory, but Gina's sure to steal his thunder, or ruin everything.

Will Nate win or lose? Pass or fail? Or end up in detention . . . AGAIN?

Meet BIG NATE, self-described genius and definitely NOT the teacher's pet in this comic-strip novel perfect for anyone who's ever been to middle school.


Author Notes

Lincoln Peirce was born in Iowa on October 23, 1963. He studied art at Colby College and the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture. He taught art and coached baseball for three years at a New York high school. He is a cartoonist/writer and the creator of the comic strip Big Nate, which appears in more than 200 U.S. newspapers.

Lincoln's titles are fixtures on the bestseller lists. Big Nate Doodlepalooza and Big Nate: I Can't Take It! made The New York Times Best Seller List for 2013. Big Nate in the Zone and Big Nate: Great Minds Think Alike made The New York Times Best Seller List for 2014. His title, Big Nate's Greatest Hits, Big Nate Lives It Up and Big Nate - Say Good-Bye to Dork City made the list in 2015.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 4

School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-6-Peirce's second book about Big Nate is clever and funny. For Mrs. Godfrey's newest special project, a research assignment on a great American, the sixth grader gets paired with the perfect A-plus student, Gina. Horrible as this seems, something great also occurs-Nate is picked as a Fleeceball team captain and has a chance to win the coveted Spoffy (Sports Played Only for Fun) trophy. Unfortunately, he is late to the gym when players are chosen, and Gina is on his team. The pacing of the text and the black-and-white comic-book illustrations give the story a fun and carefree rhythm. Readers will be delighted to pick this up and find great characters who will stay with them.-Patty Saidenberg, George Jackson Academy, New York City (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Horn Book Review

Fans of Big Nate (rev. 7/10) will not be disappointed in the second book about Nate's continuing trials. Peirce gets all the details of a sixth-grade boy just right: the humiliation of first love and first hate, the monotony of school, the importance of sports, the relentlessness of bullies, and the goofiness of best friends. Nate is still smitten with the unattainable Jenny, but he also has a new woman in his life, grade-grubbing archnemesis Gina Hemphill-Toms. They are brought together by the fates and Mrs. Godfrey, who assigns them to be partners for a research paper about Ben Franklin. Gina worries that her A+ average is in jeopardy, and Nate worries that his fleeceball team might lose the Spoffy tournament or that he might die of embarrassment because Gina named the team the Kuddle Kittens. All this angst is tempered by Nate's talent for making hilarious lists and drawing comics. Though the final Ben Franklin presentation and fleeceball tournament come to a predictable end, readers learn that Gina is more than just a grade grubber and that Nate has some academic chops himself. Even the most jaded middle-schooler will find much to laugh about here. robin l. smith (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

Fresh from his daily comic strip, sixth grader Nate Wright returns for another novel-length adventure (Big Nate: In a Class By Himself, 2010). He must endure both being partnered with overly perfect Gina on a social-studies project AND her playing on the intramural fleeceball team he captains. To make matters worse, Nate missed the deadline to submit the name of his team to Coach, and Gina submitted "Kuddle Kittens" for him. Total embarrassment! Gina messes up the team's first game, and she fears Nate will mess up her A+ average. The two strike a deal: He'll let her do the report on Ben Franklin alone, and she'll bow out of future fleeceball games. Nate may think he's got the bases covered...but he can't seem to learn that his plans never quite work out. Peirce's second Big Nate tale is even more stuffed with Nate's own comics than his first, including a couple "Poor Nate's Almanacks" and his goofy imaginings in "true" life comix. A latter-day Peanuts and a kinder, gentler Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Fans will be in heaven; thank goodness number three is already on the way. (Graphic hybrid/fiction. 7-11)]] Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Peirce's mischievous grade-school hero returns for more misadventures in another blend of easy-reading narrative and comic-strip snippets modeled after the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books. In an unbelievable double stroke of bad luck, Nate gets paired with the insufferable brainiac Gina on a class project and stuck with her on his otherwise championship-worthy fleeceball (indoor baseball) team. Lessons are learned and comeuppances are delivered on both sides. This is a hearty dose of low-fiber fun for boys, and Peirce's cartoon tidbits make the pages fly past with punch lines galore.--Chipman, Ian Copyright 2010 Booklist