Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for Dark tribute
Format:
Title:
Dark tribute
ISBN:
9781250075888
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2019.
Physical Description:
373 pages ; 25 cm
Summary:
New York Times bestseller Iris Johansen is back with another high octane thriller that will leave your mind racing and your heart pounding. Despite her tragic childhood, violin prodigy Cara Delaney has finally found peace in her career as a professional musician and stability in her relationship with her guardians, forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and ex-Navy SEAL Joe Quinn. If only Jock Gavin, Cara's lifelong friend and a man with his own twisted history, would even talk to her, everything would be perfect. But the carefully constructed life Cara has built for herself is suddenly threatened when she is kidnapped by a mysterious man from her grandfather's past, setting off a violent chain of events that puts everyone Cara loves in danger. Will Cara become a tribute to her family's dark past, or will she be able to keep herself and her loved ones alive?
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
FICTION - JOHANSEN
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I. Dark
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I. Dark
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
FIC JOHANSEN 2019
Searching...
Searching...
JOHANSEN, I. Eve Duncan #24
Searching...
Searching...
MCN JOHANSEN
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION JOHANSEN
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
FIC JOHANSEN
Searching...
Searching...
JOHANSEN Iris
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen, I.
Searching...
Searching...
Johansen
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

New York Times bestseller Iris Johansen is back with another high octane thriller in Dark Tribute that will leave your mind racing and your heart pounding.

Despite her tragic childhood, violin prodigy Cara Delaney has finally found peace in her career as a professional musician and stability in her relationship with her guardians, forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and ex-Navy SEAL Joe Quinn. If only Jock Gavin, Cara's lifelong friend and a man with his own twisted history, would come back into her life, everything would be perfect.

But the carefully constructed world Cara has built for herself is suddenly threatened when she is kidnapped by a mysterious man trying to settle a score against her family, setting off a violent chain of events that puts everyone Cara loves in danger. Now, Cara will have to use every instinct she has to stay one step ahead, or else she'll pay the deadly tribute of her family's dark past.

Praise for Iris Johansen:

" A tantalizing puzzle ...fans of paranormal suspense will be rewarded." -- Publishers Weekly

"A fun read filled with plenty of action and mystery. ..Eve Duncan did not disappoint!" -- Criminal Element on Shattered Mirror


Author Notes

Iris Johansen was born on April 7, 1938. She started writing when her two children were in college. A year later she finished her first novel, a contemporary romance. After writing many best-selling historical romances and fantasies, including the Sedikhan and Clanad series, she turned to suspense fiction. Her works include And Then You Die, The Ugly Duckling, Pandora's Daughter, Killer Dreams, Dead Aim, No One to Trust, The Perfect Witness, Night Watch, the Eve Duncan series, the Catherine Ling series, and the Kendra Michaels series.

(Bowker Author Biography) Iris Johansen is the bestselling author of "The Ugly Duckling", "Long After Midnight", "And Then You Die", "The Face of Deception", "The Killing Game", & "The Search". She lives near Atlanta, Georgia.

(Publisher Provided)


Reviews 4

Publisher's Weekly Review

Fans of paranormal romantic suspense will welcome bestseller Johansen's engrossing 24th Eve Duncan novel (after 2018's Shattered Mirror). After performing in Charlotte, N.C., Cara Delaney, whom many consider "the most brilliant violinist to come along since Yehudi Menuhin," flies to Atlanta for a fundraiser. Atlanta is also the home of her guardians-Eve, "one of the foremost forensic sculptors in the world," and Eve's husband, Det. Joe Quinn (ex-SEAL, ex-FBI)-and the couple's precocious 10-year-old son, Michael, whose telepathic powers allow him to communicate with others across long distances. Cara checks into a hotel where she knows Jock Gavin, her "best friend, her savior, the man who made everything right just by smiling at her," is also staying. Jock visits Cara in her room, and the romantic tension sizzles as Cara tries to persuade Jock to cross the line from friends to lovers. Shortly after Jock leaves Cara's room, she's kidnapped. Eve, Joe, and Jock race to the rescue. Strong female characters and a twist-filled plot will keep readers turning the pages. Agent: Andrea Cirillo, Jane Rotrosen Agency (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Kirkus Review

Think the competition among music students at Juilliard is fierce? Wait till you hear what the family of violinist Anna Svardak has done, and is prepared to do, to anyone they consider a rival.By the time John Svardak sets his sights on Cara Delaney, he's already murdered four other violinists on both sides of the Atlantic because their music-making can't compare to that of his long-dead violinist sister, Anna. In fact, the chain of vengeance goes back even further, since Cara's grandfather Sergai Kaskov murdered Anna as payback for the time years earlier when Anna's father and brother broke Kaskov's finger bones in the gulag where they were imprisoned together because they feared him as yet another possible competitor in the days when she was still alive. Svardak succeeds in snatching Cara from her concert tour and hiding her out in the wilds of West Virginia as he cackles over the fate she'll share with her most recent predecessor, violinist Marian Napier. Fortunately, Cara's guardians, forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and Detective Joe Quinn of the Atlanta Police Department, and Michael, Eve's preternaturally empathic 10-year-old son, are fully equal to the challenge of locating her before she can follow Niccol Paganini and Jascha Heifetz into history. So for that matter is Cara herself, who's so eager to consummate her recently professed love for Eve's childhood friend Jock Gavin that she's doubly watchful and resourceful in planning her escape. But restoring Cara to the bosom of her family is only one more chapter in the war declared by Svardak, who's "crazy, not a ruthless sociopath," as Joe helpfully observes, and who's bent on eliminating everyone Cara loves before he returns to sweep her up again, this time for keeps, as a final tribute to his dead sister.The densely woven backstory, the oracular speeches, the elliptically motivated vendetta, and the constant recourse to near-supernatural powers all suggest that what Johansen (Vendetta, 2018, etc.) is writing is not a fairy tale for adults but a fairy tale with a mostly adult cast. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

If revenge is a dish best served cold, then John Svardak's vendetta against his longtime nemesis, Sergei Kaskov, has reached polar proportions. While a young man imprisoned in a Russian gulag, Svardak took his first act of vengeance against Kaskov in a disfiguring injury that ruined Kaskov's musical aspirations. In retaliation, Kaskov murdered Svardak's father and brother. Now, decades later, Svardak hopes to settle the score by kidnapping and brutally killing Kaskov's granddaughter, violin virtuoso Cara Delaney, and endangering the lives of those closest to her: Joe Quinn, ex-Navy SEAL husband of forensic-sculptor Eve Duncan; their psychically empathic son, Michael; and the charismatic but deadly Jock Gavin, the love of Cara's life. In her captivity, Cara finds a fierce inner strength that propels her to take control of her fate, to the dismay of Gavin and Duncan. Focusing on the manipulative nature of friends and enemies, lovers and family, Johansen's psychologically intense thriller featuring the newly empowered Delaney, who trades her passiveness for determination, will resonate with prescient timeliness. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Johansen's Eve Duncan series is a perennial favorite of crime-fiction fans.--Carol Haggas Copyright 2018 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Cara Delaney, violin prodigy and adopted daughter of world-famous forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and Atlanta PD detective Joe Quinn, is kidnapped. It soon becomes apparent that Cara's disappearance and kidnapping are linked to her Russian mafia kingpin grandfather's past. Joe, Eve, and the man Cara loves, Jock Gavin, move quickly to get her back. Meanwhile, Cara, in the clutches of a sadistic, maniacal killer, does everything she can to stay alive. Johansen's (Vendetta) 24th installment in her long-running Eve Duncan series is a psychological thriller with a little woo-woo, featuring some of the author's iconic flawed heroes and a truly psychotic villain, giving the audience a fast-paced chilling tale. Cara and Jock, background players in past novels, take center stage as Joe, Eve, and their young son Michael fill in as solid costars. VERDICT Fans of Kay Hooper, Heather Graham, and Lisa Jackson who like their romantic suspense served with a delicious side of supernatural will love this series. Reading in order is best. [See Prepub Alert, 9/17/18.]-Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City-Cty. Lib. Dist., St Peters, MO © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.