Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for The outcast
The outcast



Publication Information:
New York : Scholastic, ©2005.
Physical Description:
209 pages : illustrations, maps ; 20 cm.
Series title(s):
Number in series:
bk. 8.
General Note:
Sequel to: The hatchling.
Outcast Without a Name -- Venomous Visitors -- The Eagles' Nest -- Sky Writing -- A Decision Is Made -- A Cry in the Night -- A Heartbeat Calls -- A Fiend Comes to Life -- The Egg Restored -- A Namesake -- Listening to Legends -- Wolves in the Moonlight -- A New Friend -- From a Distant Land -- Violence in Silverveil -- A Green Eye -- Of Sky and Trail -- Treating With the MacHeaths -- An Eerie Feeling -- A Spotted Owl Goes Yeep -- Who's the Teacher? -- Basic Colliering -- A Blood Oath -- A Gnaw Wolf in Training -- From the River's Mist -- In the Eye of the Wolf -- The Glass Volcano -- Uncle Soren and the King.
Nyroc has glimpsed a new destiny in the of his father's bones. In search of that destiny leaves for The Beyond the Beyond.
Reading Level:
790 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader Grades 5-8 5.1 6 Quiz 100602 English fiction, vocabulary quiz available.


Call Number

On Order



To prove his goodness, young Nyroc will renounce his name, his mother, and his inheritance to seek the holiest of relics from The Beyond the Beyond.

Nyroc has exiled himself from the Pure Ones. He flies alone, feared and despised by those who know him as Kludd's son, hunted by those whose despotism he has rejected, and haunted by ghostly creatures conjured by Nyra to lure him back to the Pure Ones. He yearns for a place he only half believes in -- the great tree -- and an uncle -- the near-mythic Soren -- who might be a true father to him. Yet he cannot approach the tree while the rumor of evil clings to him. To prove his worth, Nyroc will fly to The Beyond the Beyond seeking the legendary Relic and bring it, a talisman of his own

Author Notes

Kathryn Lasky was born in Indianapolis, Indiana on June 24, 1944, and knew she wanted to be a writer from the time she was ten. She majored in English in college and after graduation wrote for various magazines and taught. Her first book, I Have Four Names for My Grandfather, was published while she was teaching.

She has written more than seventy books for children and young adults on everything from historical fiction to picture books and nonfiction books including the Dear America books and the Guardians of Ga'Hoole series. Many of her books are illustrated with photographs by her husband, Christopher Knight. She has received many awards for her titles including Sugaring Time which was a Newberry Honor Book; The Night Journey which won the National Jewish Book Award for Children; Pageant which was an ALA Notable Children's book; and Beyond the Burning Time which was an ALA Best Book for Young Adults. She has also received the Washington Post's Children's Book Guild Award for her contribution to children's nonfiction. She lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

Prologuep. xi
1 Outcast Without a Namep. 1
2 Venomous Visitorsp. 10
3 The Eagles' Nestp. 16
4 Sky Writingp. 25
5 A Decision Is Madep. 29
6 A Cry in the Nightp. 34
7 A Heartbeat Callsp. 40
8 A Fiend Comes to Lifep. 46
9 The Egg Restoredp. 50
10 A Namesakep. 55
11 Listening to Legendsp. 62
12 Wolves in the Moonlightp. 66
13 A New Friendp. 78
14 From a Distant Landp. 82
15 Violence in Silverveilp. 92
16 A Green Eyep. 97
17 Of Sky and Trailp. 104
18 Treating With the MacHeathsp. 110
19 An Eerie Feelingp. 119
20 A Spotted Owl Goes Yeepp. 124
21 Who's the Teacher?p. 133
22 Basic Collieringp. 139
23 A Blood Oathp. 148
24 A Gnaw Wolf in Trainingp. 159
25 From the River's Mistp. 164
26 In the Eye of the Wolfp. 168
27 The Glass Volcanop. 172
28 Uncle Soren and the Kingp. 191