Learn more about CCRLS
Reading recommendations from Novelist
Online learning resources
Cover image for An enchantment of ravens
Format:
Title:
An enchantment of ravens
ISBN:
9781481497589

9781481497596
Edition:
First edition.
Publication:
New York : Margaret K. McElderry Books, [2017]
Physical Description:
300 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
After seventeen-year-old prodigy portraitist Isobel receives her first royal patron, the fairies' autumn prince Rook, she makes a terrible mistake that upends her world.
Reading Level:
Ages 14 up.
Electronic Access:
http://margaretrogerson.com/
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Status
Searching...
YA FICTION - ROGERSON
Searching...
Searching...
Rogerson
Searching...
Searching...
TEEN ROGERSON
Searching...
Searching...
TEEN Rogerson, M.
Searching...
Searching...
TEEN Rogerson, M.
Searching...
Searching...
T ROGERSON
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron--Rook, the autumn prince--she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes--a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love--and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

An instant New York Times bestseller!
An Indie Next Top 10 Pick
A Parents' Choice Silver Honor Winner

"A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance." -- School Library Journal (starred review)
"A phenomenal read." -- RT Book Reviews


Reviews 5

School Library Journal Review

Gr 7 Up-This debut novel offers a lively romantic adventure. Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a talented painter who finds herself in demand by the fair folk, immortal beings captivated by human handicrafts. They pay her in enchantments, which she is careful to phrase in such a way that there can be no loopholes. But her newest client, Rook, is unlike other fair folk she's met-there is a sorrow behind his eyes. When she captures this in a painting, his status is challenged in his kingdom as fair folk can never be seen to have a flaw. Isobel accompanies Rook on a The Princess Bride-style magical adventure back to his home kingdom, finding along the way that their sparring relationship could turn into something more. Rogerson ably builds this fantasy world through canny details and contemporary dialogue, allowing for an enjoyable read by fantasy and non-fantasy readers alike. She also craftily depicts the power imbalance between Isobel and Rook, offering a refreshing dynamic in which Isobel often comes out on top. -VERDICT A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance sure to appeal to fans of Holly Black, Diana Wynne Jones, and Sarah J. Maas.-Ann Foster, Saskatoon Public Library, Sask. © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a master of her "Craft"-painting portraits-in the town of Whimsy, where it is always summer and which borders the forest where the "fair folk" have their kingdoms. When the fairies' autumn prince, Rook, requests a portrait, Isobel's world is upended. Petulant and beautiful Rook, whose eyes hold "sorrow, as raw as an open wound," frightens and beguiles Isobel; when he is upset by what his portrait reveals to his kingdom, he abducts her so that she might stand trial for the affront. Rogerson's moody debut novel is suffused with an intoxicating and palpable romantic longing. As Isobel and Rook break the "Good Law" by falling for each other, Rogerson turns forbidden love into fresh adventure with danger, chases, a glorious ball, and unexpected narrative turns. Readers will delight in her interpretation of classic fairy themes and lore, and in the humor laced into the story (Isobel's rowdy younger sisters began life as goats, before being ensorcelled by a drunk fairy). An ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. Ages 14-up. Agent: Sara Megibow, KT Literary. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

Human teen Isobel's skill as a portrait painter entices many of the immortal fair folk to commission her work, including Rook, the autumn prince. When forbidden love flickers between them, Isobel faces a terrible choice: death or embracing an immortality that will likewise destroy her artistry. Rogerson's depiction of the eerie, cruel, and glamorous fair folk gives an edge to this romantic fairy-lore fantasy. (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Kirkus Review

A practical painter meets a tortured fairy prince, and layers upon layers of magic and intrigue engulf them in this debut.In Regency-esque Whimsy, where time seems suspended and it's always summer, humans practice Craft (making) for the pleasure of the capricious fair folk. Fair-skinned human Isobel, 17, is a portrait painter of unsurpassed talent who has mastered the art of wrangling practical enchantments from her clients. When she paints sorrow into the eyes of the autumn prince, she becomes embroiled in a complex web of fairy-court intrigues. Golden-brown, beautiful Rook (autumn and summer folk are darker skinned; spring and winter lighter) kidnaps her in retaliation; in their uncomfortable flight they fall for each other, dooming themselves to death. The occasionally busy first-person narration blossoms with unexpected humor (appealing-but-alien Rook consider tears "leaks"); rich, detailed descriptions of the beautiful but dangerous world of the folk will seduce readers, while the unexpectedly action-filled flight (there's a wild hunt, a ball, magic battles, and extreme painting) keeps the pages turning. Rogerson draws on fairy lore while changing myriad details to suit her story, and in Isobel she provides a strong, confident heroine who may lose her heart but never her head. No glamour is needed to make readers fall for this one. (Fantasy. 12-adult) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Booklist Review

Isobel is so talented at her craft that even Rook, prince of the autumn court of the fair folk, comes to her to have his portrait painted. But when she paints mortal sorrow into his eyes considered a fatal flaw in a court run on intrigue and dangerous power Rook kidnaps her to the world of the fair folk to stand trial. But there's even more peril once Isobel lands in Rook's chaotic realm, since her feelings for the prince, and his for her, could mean death for both of them. Rogerson's first novel is a lush romance with a strong heroine. In particular, Isobel's reticence to trust the fair folk makes her love for Rook believable, especially since Rogerson gives Rook depth enough for readers to love him as well. The plot is fairly tidy, with most of the story taking place over a matter of days, and Rogerson's deft way with words and world building lifts tension and interest to a high point. An excellent choice for fans of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.--Wildsmith, Snow Copyright 2017 Booklist